top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

Weddings

The world is slowly opening up for events amidst this global pandemic. One of the most anticipated ones for couples is their weddings. Some had to put them on hold for a couple of months to make sure their family and friends are able to attend and see them in person sharing wedding vows. Some opt for a digital option, connecting to their loved ones safely via zoom while the vows are being exchanged, and only will plan for a bigger reception in the near future when things are much safer for larger groups of people to gather. Different people have different views on weddings, reception and how big their event would be. I am no exception. This post is a selfish post. It's for me to gather my thoughts on why my stance is on my perfect wedding is as such. My significant other on the other hand probably has a different idea of his perfect wedding. Hence this post. This post is not going to be something everyone agrees on, but it's definitely a personal choice how you would like your wedding day to happen. My Ideal Wedding

Intimate. Fuss-free. Just embracing your other half.

1. Experience vs Expenses I'm all for the experience of getting married, but not at a large cost to be incurred even before getting the vows out and starting your new life together. The thing I worry most about spending a large sum of money during a wedding reception is the amount of debt after. ( If you don't have the cashflow upfront)


2. Size of Guest List

The other thing is the toe-stepping issue of who to invite to your wedding. I've had countless encounters by bride/groom pre and post-pandemic tell me issues about the guest list. If they wanted an intimate wedding, the parents somehow invites half the kampong over for the celebration, causing the bride/groom to be frustrated but in the end lets the parents do what they want and they just go ahead so that there is no fight. (this is pre-pandemic btw)


Now, the main complaint the couple will get is, "I can't invite a plus 1?" and they get disappointed and just refuse to attend the event, sulking but wishing all the best to the couple anyway. This also happens pre-pandemic, don't get me wrong. See what I mean.. the toe-stepping.

But...

Rereading through my own one-sided debate here, I see it. :(

How negative I am about the whole wedding experience for my own wedding based off on other's experiences. My Ideal wedding may not be my partner's ideal wedding, but the idea is to have a middle ground that both will appreciate. I should always remember this; Marriage is not a 1-day event. This 1 day should not take precedence over the fact that on that day forth, the person you just married is the person you love and cherish and agreed to spend your whole life with. The event is for others to celebrate with you on your union. They will be the family you love too.


My revised Ideal Wedding

HAVE THIS DISCUSSION WITH MY PARTNER.



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Being Frugal, Start Saving Now

I guess with the rising cost of living everywhere around the world, we are all looking for some ways to reduce our expenses. Ever heard...

Σχόλια


bottom of page