top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

Compact Powders to Liquid Foundation

Since the start of project panning. I have 3 compact foundations which I want to use up, unfortunately the application of it gets quite cakey, something which I'm not into. I had the thought, "What if I can repurpose them into liquid foundation?" So became a quest to find out if I can successfully turn the powder foundation into liquid foundation that I would be willing to use. I saw there was a youtuber named Ruby Lyn who turned loose mineral powder into liquid foundation. However I'm not sure if this would be successful on mine. Let's give it a try!

I wanted to try out something along the lines of moisturising liquids similar to the moisturiser that Ruby Lyn was using. So for the next few days, there will be a few experiments using different liquids for me to upcycle my hardly used compact powder. - Facial Oils - Moisturiser - Water/ Setting Spray Control Powder:

I'll be using the NRC Cosmetics Compact Powder Characteristics: Velvety, High Coverage, Matte Finish

Experiment 1: Facial Oil Facial Oil used: Bybi's Blueberry Booster

Recorded the quick 1minute review on my tiktok!

Steps: 1- Scrape the compact powder to become loose powder.

2. Create a well for the Facial oil, I added a while dropper full of oil which is about 15 drops. (Add Facial oil of choice, preferably a colourless one)

3. Mull well for a new minutes, pressing against the mixture and moving around in a circular motion.

4. Ready for application! The outcome of the mixing is a more runny consistency similar to the Facial Oil. The application was easily spread and provided a high coverage still due to the original compact being high coverage. This method will definitely not be transfer proof and will feel more oily on the skin. If you're not used to the oily sensation, you may not like this option. This method definitely gave the most Dewy looking skin (borderline oily). Make sure to set the powder lightly or just wait a few minutes for the facial oil to seep into the skin, use a dry clean powder brush to just swipe all over the face to remove a bit of the oiliness without disturbing the product. Application of powder products on top of this product will amplify the pigment, so go in with a light touch and build up your blusher/ bronzer. Experiment 2: Moisturiser Moisturiser used: Cetaphil Moisturising Cream

Steps: 1. Scrape the compact powder to become loose powder.

2. Add your favourite moisturiser

3. Mix well for a new minutes, pressing against the mixture and moving around in a circular motion.

4. Ready for application! This experiment gives more of a creamy result in comparison to the other experiment using facial oil. The application was also easy and buildable. Not streaky and absorbed easily by the skin and left a very nice satin/ lightly dewy finish. Having the compact powder providing high coverage from the start also allowed the product not to be like a tinted moisturiser. I only used a little bit out of the mixture to cover my whole face, and have plenty more to be saved for the next use.


Experiment 3: Setting Spray Setting Spray Used: Smashbox Prime+ Prep

Steps: 1. Scrape the compact powder to become loose powder.

2. Add your setting spray

3. Mix for a new minutes, the powder I have doesn't really want to mix with the liquid, so I tried mixing as best as I can.

4. Ready for application! I had to dab away a little bit of the excess liquid. I may have added a bit too much. The end product was more sheer and natural, very lightweight and felt like I didn't even add any product to my face. Summary After the 3 experiments, I would prefer going for the first 2 liquids as they got incorporated the best. This would definitely help me pan my compact foundation faster! XOXO

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page