top of page
MSCHFF NASH

HAIR OILS AT HOME?: I'm Coconuts! (Part 2)


Hey Mischevious!

Welcome back to the continuation of HAIR OILS AT HOME?: I'm Coconuts!

In this continuation we will be going through the remaining half of the week by doing check-ins and also leaving my thoughts and summarise my overall experience with the Coconut Oil.

SO LETS CONTINUE!

After having my hair feeling so moisturized, my sister was intending to throw some of her old curlers, so before it was being disposed of, I decided why not.....PLAY WITH THEM!

Okay okay so enough of the goofiness, but in all honesty, I already have curls. I just need to manage that. It was fun while it lasted! Moving on to the next day please!

Thursday morning check in upon waking up.

Totally woke up like this.

My curls though visibly more limp than my usual hair is definitely less frizzy and more managable. As mentioned previously, you will definitely have Coconut Oil smell still lingering in your hair. Had to work that night and decided it would be a good factor to see if my hair stood the test of another day.

Here is a recap of the wash and soak schedule. So tonight would be a day I would prepare to soak my hair in 1 tbsp of Coconut oil over 1.5 hrs.

So far as this experiment is going, we have just used the coconut oil as I felt the coconut oil left a greasy residue that made the ends of my curls feel stringy. So I wanted to test if my thoughts on the Coconut Oil being a Conditioner replacement would be better than a hair serum....

Thursday before work (check-in)

Thursday afternoon check-in, before heading to work. I decided to put on my Ellips Hair Vitamin Capsule to give it a gloss and sheen. (review soon!) The serum masked the coconut smell completely! I might be wrong, but the oil seeped in beautifully into the hair.

During the course of the night, I hardly kept my hair down the entire day and usually will alternate between tying it up in a tight bun or high ponytail. I would say my I was super impressed with how it looked, smell and feel and I've used this serum many times before and I rave about it to my friends. BUT WHOA the additional step to condition the hair with the Coconut Oil felt AMAZING with this serum.

Check out my last check in for that night after work.

The next day I did the same steps to the soak but with a shorter curing period under the shower cap. 1 tbsp of Coconut oil and 1.5 hours. What do you do during your waiting period like that? I made the blog post to part 1 of this experiment and also got ready for work for that Friday night.

I totally forgot to take some pics of the days after as I was exhausted, but I'll do a summary of my thoughts on the final soaking.

So after the soaking as usual, my routine would include air drying my hair. And so I went to work with semi damp hair. This time, the oil was just used as an alternative deep conditioning and I paired it up with the Ellips Hair Vitamin as my hair serum once my hair has somewhat dried completely. I find that it works best when the hair is almost completely dry to put on any serum and to keep you hair in a tight snail bun to let the serum warm up and work its magic.

Soaking using less of the oil indeed made it easier to wash away with the soap I was using.

Saturday check in. My hair completely dry felt so soft and smooth to the touch. Not frizzy at all, and the weather condition is perfect for my hair. Not hot but a very wet weekend.

(ps. i still think that was also a contributing factor to maintaining my frizz). So summarizing the week.

Advantages of Coconut Oil on Hair

-cheaper conditioning alternative

-moisturize hair and leaves it soft

-able to make hair relatively frizz free

On the Fence of Coconut Oil on Hair

-smells mildly pleasant if you like coconut smell

-left a greasy feeling during the first wash, a stronger shampoo may be useful. However, I felt that it may contradict the benefits of Coconut Oil on hair as some ingredients strip off your natural Essential Oils on you hair.

-not so great as a serum alternative.

I may or may not revisit this hair oil in the future as I feel this has a lot of potential to be explored further as it is used in many beauty and haircare products. Coconut Oils has been used in Ayurvedic treatments for hundreds of years, it can create a soothing and calming effect. I think its all natural and organic nature is definitely beneficial for the hair as some if not most haircare products so use Coconut Oil as part of their ingredients. I'll touch base on that ingredients in haircare in future posts.

For this oil. I'll give it 3 juice boxes!

I gave it an average rating for personally, it does work its magic in hydrating your hair. But I felt more reservations on the oil, that it may crisp up my hair if i don't use some form of protectant in my hair if I were to be in the sun for a long period of time, the strong fragrance may put off some people from trying it if they aren't used to the smell and also needing to use a stronger shampoo that may strip of any hydration you were trying to achieve with the Coconut Oil.

I do find that it is a great conditioning oil to use for times you need some deep conditioning of the hair.

You may want to test this out yourself soon!

Do check out HAIR OILS AT HOME?: I'm Coconuts! (Part 1) here if you haven't!

MSCHFF MANAGED!

xoxo NASH

23 views0 comments
bottom of page