top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

Hair Systems Ultimate Hair Oil by Watsons


Happy Vesak Day all! It has been awhile since I've written a review hasn't it? Bought this from Watson's Malaysia in 2018 and kept it with me while I finished my current hair oils. It's the Hair System Professional Salon Care, Ultimate Hair Oil for all hair types.

It boasts claims that it recovers hair elasticity by 99% with 3x shinning power. 8 benefits in one oil, repairing, nourishing, beautifying, anti-frizz, protecting, moisturising, smoothing, strengthening. 7 free from paraben, lanolin, mineral oils, alcohol colourant polyethylene glycol, MIT.

Usage: After washing you hair, dry hair with a towel. Apply 1-2 pumps of the oil onto your hair shaft and ends. Use more oil where your driest areas are the most damaged (typically the ends). No need to rinse. Use on dry hair for a smoothing effect and intense shine. No need to rinse. Use in conjunction with other Hair Systems by Watsons products for the best results.

Ingredients:

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimenthicone, Dimethiconol, C12-15,Alkyl Benzoate, Parfum (fragrance), Argania Spinosa (Argan Kernel, Camelia Japonica Seed Oil, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) oil, Helianthus Annus (SUnflower Seed OIl, Olea Europaea (Olive ) Fruit Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Sclerocarya Birrea (Marula) Seed Oil, Macadamia INterifolia Seed Oil, Tocopherol, Hexyl Cannamal, Limonene, Butylphenyl Methylptopional, Geraniol.

This was my hair after it has been washed and air dried overnight.

I had used the Mane 'n' Tail Gentle Clarifying Shampoo to clean the hair the night before. If you have not seen my review of that shampoo ,it strips the hair out of the debris and oils and leave it feeling clean. However the downside it that it takes at least a few days to get the natural hair oils back to moisturise the hair. Hair oil application after the hair washing session is a great addition to moisturise the hair temporarily.

It feels dry and frizzy, and it lacks the sheen and gloss. Of course, the humidity of Singapore doesn't help in it's natural drying state.

I will be testing out this hair oil for about a week and having a hair wash in between to see how I like this hair oil. 2018 has had quite a couple of hair oils which did surprise me, let's see how this will surprise me.

The characteristics of the Hair Systems Ultimate Hair Oil by Watsons had a yellowish tinge, which might be from the Argan oil, which is one of the top ingredient on the list. The hair oil had a more oil like viscosity rather than gel like. This small bottle is very handy for travel and also to drop into your bags or purse. It has a pump which saves the hassle of pouring it onto your hands.

Day Of Hair Wash:

The hair definitely did smoothen out through the day. However the lasting effect is not as long and it frizzes back up quite quickly through the day. The great thing is that it gets absorbed into the hair pretty easily and does not feel so greasy after application.

But of course I wonder if this hair oil is the type that gets better with every use. How some oils work well after the hair has some natural oils that coats it after a day's wash.

Day After Hair Wash:

This was the day after waking up from sleep! It looks pretty tame and healthy I must say after reapplication of the hair oil the previous night and keeping it in a twisted bun.

I'll reapply it again to see if it makes it even better throughout the day.

2 Days After Hair Wash:

Keeping the hair up in a twisted bun helps my curls a lot and also avoids the excess frizz that my hair seems to get after minutes of heading out the door. It may look really good for a good 5 minutes before it turns into a frizz ball of heat.

So I'm pretty amazed at the gloss it gave my hair at the end of the day. Pair it up with my curls, looks really good to me!

Ultimately the hair oil isn't going to top any of my other HG hair serums currently, but I will continue to use it up and finish all the items completely.

Juice Box Rating

1. Moisturising 3/5

It isn't as moisturising as what I expected it to be as I had to reapply it a couple of times throughout the day to get the frizz under control and the glossy effect I wanted.

2. Affordability 3/5

I've yet to still do a search for the product on the shelves of watson's, however it's quite affordable as of the conversion rate from Malaysia to Singapore dollars.

3. Endurance in Humidity 3/5

It doesn't endure humidity as well and loses it's effect a few hours in. You will definitely need to reapply to get the maintenance and gloss you want.

4. Efficacy 3/5

It's a product that needs some building up a few times over night. Its a good hair oil if you are looking for something easy and lightweight to reapply throughout the day without making your hair feel too heavy with products. A good perk up to refreshen the hair after the day's work or events.

Average rating of 3/5

361 views0 comments
bottom of page