top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

GRAFEN Urban Glow Shampoo (Singapore Edition)


About a year back, the brand GRAFEN was aggressively being promoted to me on my Instagram pages, with the scalp scrubbing tool. It was very intriguing, however I was on a low buy for shampoos to clear my collection of shampoo's from haircare reviews. Now that I've run out of shampoo's, I immediately got this to try after seeing lots of good reviews. The accessibility to this product via Shopee even though it's shipped all the way from Korea, also made it easier to get this product. I purchased the Singapore Edition instead of the usual GRAFEN (blue), just because the limited edition for Singapore and the Urban Glow name appealed to me! I've used it a few times, so this post is more of a first impression, with the intent to give a final review after emptying the entire bottle in the future. So look out for that in the months to come! Application As the pump is a bit short, for chest-length hair and medium thickness, I had to use about 4-6 pumps of product to achieve a good lather. If you have a much shorter hairdo, you would probably make do with less product. So adjust the pump accordingly to your hair length.

Smell As the product is meant for anyone to use, the scent related to it should not be sweet or too woody. It's a refreshing scent that is I would classify as light floral musk. With ingredients stated in the front, Patchoulli, it's no wonder it has that light floral musk.

"Patchouli has a strong, sweet scent that falls into the musky-earthy category. Because of its strong fragrance, it's often used as a base scent in candles and perfumes. ... Instead, it smells sweet, spicy and musky."- Homesick.com


If you are someone who is more inclined to use a sweet fragranced product, then this fragrance most likely is not something that you would like. Shampoo Texture

The product is a liquid soap with a runny viscosity in comparison to a few other shampoo's that I've used before that is more gel-like. The lather is soft and refreshing, with light foam with small bubbles. It's better to get your scalp completely wet before shampoo lather to ensure the product lathers on pretty well. Start at the scalp and lather generously with your fingers before working your way down. Wash-Off

The rinsing of the product out of the hair was relatively easy, and the end product doesn't leave your hair feeling "squeaky" clean. This really helps my hair not be too frizzy when I let it air dry on the 1st day. The 2nd day is the best texture your hair will be, as it has some time to develop its natural oils and be soft and manageable. The scent of it lingers for at least 2 days if you do not do any sweaty activities. Hair Loss Prevention

This product definitely will be a good test for hair loss prevention. (Although I've also started supplementing with vitamins at the same time I've begun using the product). Lately I've been experiencing more sensitive scalp issues and worrying hair loss every time I've run my fingers through my hair. After about several uses (<5), I've begun to see some changes with much less hair drop in between washes. (welp, I hope this is true and not a placebo). How I test this is to "splat"the loose hair's onto the wall. However I also do know that hair fall is common, since we lose hair everyday anyway and healthy head is when there is regrowth of the hair, meaning, the awkward baby hairs! Overall, I definitely like this shampoo and will see what benefits it contributes to my wash routine. If there is a limited edition for your country, I'd love to hear what your thoughts are about it! XOXO

Comments


bottom of page