top of page
MSCHFF NASH

Fri-zzz?: Lush Cosmetics (Part 1)


Hey hey hey Mischevious!

So many of you have polled for me to try out Lush Cosmetics hair-care range to test out their frizz free solutions! Here it is!

This is definitely my virgin Lush experience, even though Lush has been around in Singapore for quite awhile now. I went to the store at Orchard Central branch and was greeted by this very friendly staff who was patient to explain to me about the differences in the shampoo and for hair types. Mine, obviously curly, she suggested to try the Curly Wurly shampoo and the R&B leave on hair moisturiser. I was torn to trying out the Fair Trade Honey Shampoo which she recommended me that it might not do such a fantastic job on my hair as mine was curly.

There is somewhat a common theme here for November...the use of Cocos nucifera/Coconut. Hence why not continue on with the coincidental theme. I decided that I would try out Curly Wurly and R&B first seeing that both had coconut in them.

Below are the retail prices and the description I got off from Lush Cosmetics Singapore website.

CURLY WURLY

For those who cannot see it clearly, below is the description on the site for Curly Wurly

"Curly hair needs lots of moisturizing – but no one wants their curls to feel heavy and weighed down. You’re in luck! Curly Wurly shampoo keeps your unruly and out of control curls soft, shiny and bouncy. How does it do it? Fresh, nutritious ingredients work wonders for frizzy hair. It's packed full of nutritious creamed coconut and coconut oil for healthy hair and scalp, and with moisturizing vanilla, protein-rich fresh eggs and hand mashed avocado butter to give moisture back to hair and eliminate frizz. C’mon, give it a Wurl.

FEATURES:

High wattage: Loads of coconut, richly moisturizing cocoa butter and lemon juice add massive shine.

Nuts for coco: Extra virgin coconut oil is deeply hydrating for the scalp and conditions the hair follicles from root to tip.

Hair food: Avocado Butter is highly nutritious and protein-rich for hair in need of a overhaul."

R&B

"Revive and balance misbehaving hair

Enjoy some of our smooth R & B hair stylings to control your frizzy, flyaway hair. An instant best-seller, our easy-to-use “hair finisher” uses softening ingredients of organic avocado butter, oatmeal, olive oil, extra virgin coconut oil, jojoba oil and candelilla wax because they are extremely effective for conditioning the hair and scalp. Three of our UK shop managers came up with R & B to revive and balance their wayward follicles. It works well with African American or curly hair because it conditions with a lot of moisture. And once you smell the seductive orange blossom and jasmine fragrance, your hair will truly get its groove back.

How to use: On Afro or very curly hair types, get a little bit on your fingertips and work through dry hair. On straight hair and dry hair, work a little through after conditioning but before drying it.

Ingredients:

Oat Milk (Water, Avena Sativa) , Glycerine , Organic Avocado Butter (Persea gratissima) , Fair For Life Olive Oil (Olea Europaea) , Glycerl Stearate & Peg - 100 Stearate ,Fragrance , Cetearyl Alcohol , Extra Virgin Coconut Oil (Cocos nucifera) , Cold Pressed Organic Jojoba Oil (Simmondsia Chinensis) , Bay Oil (Pimenta racemosa) ,Orange Flower Absolute (Citrus Aurantium amara) ,Jasmine Absolute (Jasminum grandiflorum) , Cupuacu Butter (Theobroma Grandiflorum) , Candelilla Wax (Euphorbia cerifera) , Benzyl Alcohol , Phenoxyethanol ,*Benzyl Salicylate , *Eugenol , *Geraniol , *Isoeugenol ,*Benzyl Benzoate , *Farnesol , *Limonene , *Linalool .*Occurs naturally in essential oils"

I wanted to give this shampoo the fair chance that it needs to work on my hair. I gave it 14 days/2 Weeks to test it out and observe before doing a summary of my review. It was a busy and hectic two weeks for me with work and wedding appointments. So it would be a very good test to see if it could hold up to the erratic weather changes.

Below was the schedule I gave myself to test out these products. Keeping in mind to test out a few criteria.

Day 1: Start wash with Curly Wurly

Day 1: Freshly washed hair

Upon the first wash and dry, here are my comments:

✓Maintains curls?

✓Frizz-free?

✓Fragrant hair?

Greasy?

Ease of use?

Affordability?

✓Effectiveness?

✓Satisfaction?

I didn't use a lot of the product on my hair, maybe slightly larger than the size of 2 fifty-cents coin. However I still feel that the price is on the high side for a 220g product.The consistency of the shampoo was very thick so you didn't have to use a lot and the product didn't produce much lather. Occasionally adding water to increase the lather on your hair.

Day 1: Completely dried hair

The coconut bits felt a little awkward for me as the I was a little self conscious that the coconut bits would get caught in my hair if I didn't wash them off properly.

The use of this shampoo left my hair feeling super moisturised, no frizz and smelling great! Very effective as I really felt my hair getting softer and smoother as it air dried completely.

Usually with any smooth and managable hair shampoo, my hair would feel just that....but with the frizz and most times it just leaves my hair feeling dry...hence the need for a serum/vitamin for my hair.

Overall, I was pretty impressed with the first wash. Could not get enough of the scent of it! Just look at the frizz free hair it left me!

A satisfied consumer right there!

Day 2: Moisturise with R&B

Wow did this smell really strong. It reminded me of vintage books stores. My sister thought it smelled like essential oils. At first when I swatched this in the store, on a lock of my hair it smelt pungent to me, too overpowering and not to my liking. However while walking around orchard with that lock of 'smelly' hair, the smell grew on me. It was unique.

It comes in a small tub of 100g. A little bit pricey at RTP S$45.00. However you do not need to use a lot of this product for my length of hair hence, this tub should last you for quite awhile.

I finger-combed it and scrunched a twenty-cent sized dollop onto my hair ends and made sure to avoid the roots of my hair.

I definitely did not expect it to still look this frizz-less after hours of working in front of the espresso machine. To the touch it still felt soft and light even if my curls looked prominently less voluminous.

However this first 2 days had left me with some mixed feelings and wondering if my frizzy big hair was part of my curls that I always liked. Only time would tell at this point if my hair would develop a little volume over the course of the test.

✓Maintains curls?

✓Frizz-free?

✓Fragrant hair?

Greasy?

✓Ease of use?

Affordability?

✓Effectiveness?

✓Satisfaction?

Overall, I don't think this moisturiser is for everyone as the scent is really strong and knowing Singaporeans, they tend to stay away from scents that are unusual to them.

If you are keen to give it a test, you can head to any of the lush stores and test it first before your purchase.

Find out more on the next post on Fri-zzz?: Lush Cosmetics (Part 2) for more updates on the following days as I review further if this products withstand the humid climate and provides a frizz free experience.

With wedding weekends coming and outing with the girls....it's going to be a wonderful time...

See you next week same time same place!

If you wish to see me review more of the Lush's Haircare line, drop me a comment to tell me what you wish for me to test!

Don't stop the MSCHFF!

xoxo

19 views0 comments
bottom of page