top of page
MSCHFF NASH

DIY#1: Making Unique Jewelry from Old Ones


I love to craft and DIY items ESPECIALLY Jewelry.

I haven't had the chance to design some with any semi-precious stones due to the cost of things. Let be honest, if you did DIY for fun, it's more likely you would love it to be cost effective. Better yet, no additional costs involved.

So in this first DIY #beauty segment, I will show you ways you can upcycle your old cosmetic jewelry to new ones.

So I bought a few necklaces and earrings about 4 years back from Singsale. OH-BOY was disappointed and mad that one of the item arrived in a few pieces. Most likely damaged during the wrapping and handling process.

I didn't use the jewelry as I felt it was fragile for me to even use again as a necklace seeing how flimsy the workmanship was on the joints. You'll see later how beautiful the piece is.

A few years ago, the fasionable and affordable designer brand EZRA was also something hot and in trend. Often his pieces will be featured and sold on Zalora. I bought a wraparound watch in a taupe/ light brown colour that went on sale. To my dismay, the item was tiny for me. Having big boned wrists, the tiny face for the wraparound watch was something I could not see myself wearing or even making it work. Sad.

So what I decided to do during my purging of unwanted or unused items in the room. I decided to make something I would love to use.

For this DIY what you would need is

- a working old watch face

- chunky statement necklaces (mine was broken into 3)

-pliers and wire cutters

-jump rings/ clasps/ hooks

I'm pretty sure you can already imagine what the finished product will look like.

Steps involved:

1. Remove the watch strap to only leave the face of the watch.

2. Align your pieces together to see the balance of the watch piece

3. Hook your jump rings onto the watch ends and tighten the gap with the pliers carefully. ensure your rings and the pieces are firmly attached.

4. And you're done! Just wear it to test out the fit and adjust the size accordingly, you may need to put or take out some of the jewelry to ensure your new watch doesn't slide off your wrist!

Below will be some shots of the finished product to go along with the earings that came with the set!

Hope you have enjoyed this DIY project with me and make your own beautiful set of customised jewelry! Do click subscribe for more articles like this and share like and comment if you found this article enjoyable!

Till the next week! #DSTM!

xoxo

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page