top of page
MSCHFF NASH

Fri-zzz?: Lush Kinky Hot Oil Treatment


I've seen this product before when I was browsing on the curly hair section of Lush Cosmetic's website. However, I wasn't interested in trying it out anytime soon because their products are a pricey!! OMGAHH!

But OH BOY... was I surprised at how bang of your buck these items are. Very concentrated in goodness, it truly is something that I would repurchase (when I feel like splurging). I am convinced now why some people swear by their products and consider them their holy grail in bath soaps.

With that said, today is the awaited first impression of Lush's Kinky Hot Oil Treatment. Have you seen my video on youtube yet? Pause and take a look at the video before carrying on reading.

So as you can see, it was kind of a messy application and the hot oil treatment seemed to not fully dissolve into the hot water but instead gave you that tofu/curdled consistency which you had to work into your hair with your hands. I don't think using an applicator or a squeeze tube would do as good as a job compared to your hands.

So to summarise as mentioned in the video. it definitely left my hair feeling very soft after all the moisturiser application and the smell....WOW! it still lingered after 3 days after the wash. (don't mind me being gross or anything, I just felt like I needed to test how long your hair would feel soft and frizz free before you needed another wash. I don't encourage daily shampooing or washing as you strip off all your hair's essential oils it doesn't get to recover.

I definitely recommend to try this out even once, followed by a good moisturising regime for your hair to absorb the nutrients.

 

How to use the hot oil treatment

1. For shoulder to chest length hair, 1/4 of the product used is more than enough. Use less if you have shorter than a bob cut.

2. cut to desired amount for your hair.

3. Put hot water (100-150ml) into a bowl or mug. A bowl is recommended as it will cool the mixture quicker.

4. Stir for a few minutes to ensure the product gets to break down, item doesn't fully dissolve and will look like curdled milk or tofu chunks.

5. Test on your skin to see if item has cooled enough. *Never put scalding hot masks onto your skin or scalp*

6. Use your hands to scoop out the mixture and slather it onto your hair. making sure everything is covered evenly. (if you have sensitive skin, use gloves.) Make sure to do this in a bathroom or with a towel around u. It gets a little messy.

7. Let it cure for 10-20 mins or so.

8. Wash off thoroughly. It will leave an oily feeling on the hair but don't worry. Only 1 thorough rinse is required.

9. Let your hair air dry to damp.

10. On damp hair, apply your moisturiser and serums.

 

Products I used:

Hair Mask: Lush Cosmetics Kinky Hot Oil Treatment

Shampoo: Lush Cosmetics Curly Wurly

Leave on Moisturiser: Lush Cosmetics R&B

Serum: Ellips Hair Vitamin

Overall this product deserves 4 juice boxes for complimenting every single product that I had used and surpassed my expectations on the following day!

Till the next post!

Don't stop the MSCHFF!

xoxo

Nash

51 views0 comments
bottom of page