top of page
MSCHFF NASH

BeUTY: Products I've used in 2016


As you've guys seen the first, Be U, Thank You #myskinstory where I've hashed out what I did to combat my acne and blemished skin and also nitpicking on my bad picking habits. (pun intented) If not click here to read about my worst breakout yet!

It's still January 2017 so I'm trying to summarise all the things that I have tried and used in 2016 so 2017 can be a clean slate for us all to experience new things! I'm not blessed with clear and perfect skin. and with all the temptation to poke, prod and pick at on my face, I'm glad I'm definitely making a conscious decision to change my bad picking habits.

So some of the products I have tried in 2016 definitely had some ups and downs and it really made me research more on what affects skin moisture that makes you breakout. Uhh mind you, I've had some bad makeup days where my foundation just seems so dry I just wished I didn't even put on any.

So here it goes!

Alba Botanica (Hawaiian Range)

SGD 8-21

In the late 2015 and early 2016, I started using a new facial wash as my previous one ran out and I was using a facial wash that did nothing for my face. So in search of something that can pore purify all the gunk from my face from the almost daily usage of makeup. I went onto iHerb.com to search for something.

Reading the reviews on one of the items that caught my interest was the Alba Botanica Hawaiian Papaya enzyme mask. This was the first of the line which I bought and tried and was I astonished at the effectiveness. I bought the small tub of facial mask at SGD8.

Then I went to Watsons to find out that they have a 2nd product onwards at 50% off! so I went to buy the facial cleanser toner and exfoliator.

It made my skin clearer after a few weeks, so I kept using it. I used it on the daily for 6-8 months consecutively.

However, i noticed that my skin had developed a lot of breakouts once again. So I switched my facial regimen again. This was when I had the worst breakouts I had in my life thus far. My skin was dry, stubborn pimples, and acne started to form on my skin and it made my skin look very dull and dry.

Innisfree Jeju Bija Anti-trouble Cleansing Gel

SGD 21

One day, as I was out with my girlfriends, we went to innisfree and I picked up a bunch of items from the store and boy was I hooked! The Jeju Bija Anti-touble skin cleansing gel was the best thing my face has ever felt. it was super hydrating and it really cleared up my skin in a matter of days. hyperpigmentation and blemishes aside, this was truly one holy grail item in my skincare routine. Nevertheless, it still is in rotation in my cleansing routine now.

Forever Flawless White Diamond

SGD 180-250 each

Oh boy. Luxury skincare now.

However, I bought this from a seller in Carousell who was looking to sell this off as she was not using it anymore. I was first approached by the retail promoter to try out this product when I was out one day. Not really sold into buying the actual item at retail price, I was in search of a 2nd hand for this items.

From the left, I had bought the Exfoliating and Foaming Cleanser, AM Moisturiser and Peeling Exfoliator.

The retail representative did mention that this was good for people with blemishes etc. However, having done research before that about what type of cleansers are good for blemished and acne prone skin, I had my doubts about the foaming cleanser as foaming cleaners will strip off any oils from the face leaving it squeaky clean and more prone to breakouts.

...and I wasn't wrong about that. After the first few usages, I felt my skin was really dry. Even application of foundation seemed to bring out the dry patches that was felt around my smile lines. Afterwhich, I reverted back to my innisfree cleansing gel.

Hit and miss on my skin. However, not being able to return or highly unlikely someone will buy it off my hands, I decided to use it on my body instead. And it definitely worked better on my body than my face.

However, I liked that the AM Moisturiser made my skin feeling really soft. So I kept using the moisturiser on my face along with the Innisfree cleansing gel.

To summarise everything that was mentioned in these skincare that I've tested out thus far, it doesn't have to be an expensive item for it to work on your skin. Just do some research on what will work for your type of skin. (oily, combination, dry) Not all formula's will work for you and some retail associates will claim that it works for you, don't always jump to the gun to believe them. Your wallet will thank you for making that conscious decision.

Here is my Youtube video on the above skincare products!

Don't stop the MSCHFF!

xoxo

Nash

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page