top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

OUAI MORNING AFTER KIT


I recently went on a shopping haul for haircare in Sephora. Well the stuff Sephora Singapore carries anyway. One of the item's I purchased online was the The Ouai Morning After Kit (SGD36).

It contains;

1. Ouai Dry Foam Shampoo

2. Ouai Hair and Body Rose Oil

3. Ouai Finishing creme.

This hair product is more for that lazy hair wash days where you're on a rush or even after an overnight somewhere and your greasy hair just needs to be refreshed. I've had my fair share of lazy hair wash days where I just don't want to deal with the washing and water and hours of drying. I don't own a hair dryer, so....sometimes, a girl just wants to be lazy but still be beautiful.

I've tried many things from dry shampoos to try to freshen up my hair in between wash days. I tend to work through the product very fast. My hair doesn't get greasy after one day, but on days where my scalp gets really sweaty, sometimes the hair gets that odor. I've been meaning to try out a dry from of shampoo that will be fuss free and also convenient to prolong my hair wash days. So I tried this product from Ouai and was pleasantly surprised by the Dry Foam Shampoo! Let me review the products individually below.

1. Ouai Dry Foam Shampoo

The Dry Foam Shampoo dispenses as a mousse onto your palms. Its fragrance has a unisex scent which is definitely a plus point for our male friends to use as well. It feels very smooth and luxurious. It is very easy to apply onto the hair and will definitely absorb the hair oils and leaves your hair feeling refreshed for the next couple of hours. This product will not manage frizz, you can choose to use it on the roots to tip, however I just concentrated it at my hair roots and scalp where it is more greasy.

This travel sized Dry Foam Shampoo does retail at SGD 18 on its own at Sephora.sg while the full sized in retailing at SGD 42.

*This product will not remove any product buildup and will not be advisable to substitute from normal hair washing routines. This is just to extend the freshness of the hair for a little bit longer.

2. Ouai Rose Hair and Body Oil

This Rose Hair and Body Oil has a very thin viscosity and for a good reason. The ingredients are mainly oils.

Ingredients: Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, C15-19 Alkane, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Oil, Crambe Abyssinica Seed Oil, Rosa Moschata Seed Oil, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Olus (Vegetable Oil/Huile Végétale), Camelina Sativa Seed Oil, Parfum (Fragrance), Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Benzotriazolyl Dodecyl p-Cresol, Linalool, Citronellol, Geraniol, CI 26100 (Red 17).

If you are wondering if there are any frizz control properties, then the answer would be no. This will not protect your hair from the frizz, but it will add that healthy shine and some moisturising properties for a few hours. It was easily absorbed by my hair after application, however after a few hours did feel a little crunchy and dry at the ends where I applied the oil.Retails at SGD 48 for the full sized and so far, doesn't seem to come in a travel size individually.

3. Ouai Finishing Creme

The Finishing Creme is something that I would hardly reach for in my usual hair care regimen as to me it adds that greasy feeling at the end of the day that I'm not very comfortable with. If you would like that tousled look to give your hair that added volume this would be a helpful application after a blowout to maintain that tousled style.

However I applied it so that I could test out if it did add any definition to my curls. The answer would be 'no'. It left my curls feel stiff after a few hours.

I would definitely give it a try to apply on freshly washed and dried hair to see how it fares. Maybe also use it after I curl my hair if I use the curling tongs.

This product retails at SGD 36 for the full sized item at Sephora.sg, so far it doesn't seem to come in travel size individually either.

Summary

Overall, this bag is something that I would still use when I'm in a rush and just needs to freshen up my hair for a couple of hours before washing my hair. The best takeaway from this Ouai Morning After Kit was the Ouai Dry Foam Shampoo that I would definitely be reaching more often and possibly repurchase to add into my emergency hair kit.

Juice Box Rating:

1. Ouai Dry Foam Shampoo

Moisturising: 4/5

Affordability: 3/5

Endurance in Humidity: 4/5

Efficacy: 4/5

Average Juice Box rating: 3.75/5

Additional remarks: Will keep into my emergency hair kit.

2. Ouai Rose Hair and Body Oil

Moisturising: 3/5

Affordability: 3/5

Endurance in Humidity: 2/5

Efficacy: 2/5

Average Juice Box rating: 2.5/5

Additional remarks: Will definitely use it more as a body oil rather than for hair.

3. Ouai Finishing Creme

Moisturising: 1/5

Affordability: 2/5

Endurance in Humidity: 1/5

Efficacy: 2/5

Average Juice Box rating: 1.5/5

Additional remarks: Will test it after some heat styling to set the hair.

On the whole, Ouai is a more higher end haircare in terms of pricing in comparison to those you can find more rampant in the department and pharmaceutical stores. I would definitely recommend this travel sized option if you wish to try the products out. You can definitely get more that sufficient use to decide if you want to repurchase the full sized items.

Till the next week! MSCHFF Managed!

xoxo

11 views0 comments
bottom of page