top of page
MSCHFF NASH

24HR SERUM: L'oreal Techni Art Liss Control+


This is the kickoff to the start of this months topic to test out SUPER SERUMS for frizz control in the market. These SUPER SERUMS have very big claims of up to 72hrs frizz control and I'll be putting it to the test in Singapore's weather. So first up, L'oreal Techni Art Liss Control+!

The L'oreal Techni Art series has been in the market since 2012 and 5 years on, it's still making it's rounds as one of the popular items recommended to buy when you type frizz serum. I guess maybe people really love this product enough among the variety of frizz serums L'oreal has to offer, with it's 24 hour humidity control claims.

So with this ambitious claims on 24hr humidity control and perfect for frizzy hair, I embarked on the journey to test this out in Singapore. I'll put to the test this product for 24 hours and see how the product holds up though the humidity. If their claims are true or not.

In Singapore, generally the humidity is about 87% and temperatures will range from 25-32 deg celsius approximately. It rains heavily during monsoon seasons and get dry and hot in our 'summer' weather. Just remember to pack your umbrella with you at any time, since it just might rain when u least expect it.

I bought the serum secondhand for SGD8 from Carousell and it still had about 60% of the content inside for me to test out. It retails at SGD19.70 online and difficult to purchase in stores now.

This product had me in disbelief that it managed to make my hair frizz free for 24 hours on the first try that I went to test it out again on various days and with different shampoos!

Test Day 1: Dr. Forhair Folligen Shampoo + 2 pumps serum

Test Day 2: Clear Dandruff Shampoo + 2 pumps serum

Test Day 3: L'oreal Evercurl Cleansing Balm + 3 pumps serum

Test Day 4: Dr. Forhair Folligen Shampoo + 2 pumps serum

Check out the video below to see more of what I thought!

So, if you guys didn't catch that on the video, below is a summary of what went on.

Test Day 1: Dr. Forhair Folligen Shampoo + 2 pumps serum

This combination was perfect as the shampoo already gave that smooth and moisturising outcome on the hair after the wash. The temperatures was not too hot hence the product was able to withstand the 24 hours claim! However, as I was not convinced that it did as it said it would, I decided to test out on other variables.

Test Day 2: Clear Dandruff Shampoo + 2 pumps serum

The shampoo used here was not ideal as it strips the hair from any oils and left my hair feeling slightly dry. Adding the serum didn't seem to help in the moisturising as it left my hair feeling a little crunchy after a few hours.

Test Day 3: L'oreal Evercurl Cleansing Balm + 3 pumps serum

Not the most ideal shampoo as I don't recommend using this balm as a replacement for your hair wash regimen. 3 pumps was a little excessive, but I wanted to see if anymore pumps were needed for chest/bust length hair. Nope. You definitely only need a maximum of 2 pumps. This shampoo was not as bad as the dandruff shampoo, however it didn't manage to maintain the frizz for 24 hours, maybe only for appx 8-10hrs before there was some frizziness observed.

Test Day 4: Dr. Forhair Folligen Shampoo + 2 pumps serum

So I decided to test out the 1st variable again to see if it worked. Different temperatures for the day however, glad to say that it did manage to withstand 24 hrs. I tried to stretch it out a little more to see its breaking point, and if you see from the video, that is about 40hrs during the recording of the summary and you can tell that it's reached it's breaking point already. Hence requires either a re-application after 24hrs.

To summarise using the Juice Box Rating out of a maximum point of 5,

Moisturising- 2/5

Affordability-2/5

Endurance in humidity-3/5

Efficacy-3/5

Average rating of :2.5 out of 5 Juice Boxes

This product gets pinned down a lot due to the inflexibility of the product with other shampoos that are not as moisturising. Something important to look for in a serum is that it works with a lot of the shampoos that you use frequently.

I often switch up my shampoos for my wash days, so I'd definitely look into what shampoo you're using here before you try out this serum.

Till next time, Don't stop the MSCHFF!

xoxo

Nash

10 views0 comments
bottom of page