top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

72HR SERUM! KMS TAMEFRIZZ DE-FRIZZ OIL


This is no ordinary serum, it is the 72HR SUPER SERUM! The KMS TAMEFRIZZ DE-FRIZZ OIL claims to hold the frizz for...YUP! 72HR! So here we are, testing one of the most longest claims for a serum so far for frizz control! I'm going to be using the KMS TameFrizz regimen from start to finish. If you guys are interested to know more about KMS and their line of products available, go check out their website! https://www.kmshair.com/

So while prowling through the website for more details about the ingredients, and the products they have, only the De-Frizz Oil has the 72hr claim. This product unfortunately is an exclusive salon product and only available to purchase from exclusive salon retailers or if you can find it online via Lazada or Amazon etc. I managed to get my hands on some sample packets from an online distributor for me to try out.

So the above is the sample packs I bought from the distributor. KMS TAMEFRIZZ Shampoo 10ml/0.3fl oz, Smoothing lotion 5ml/0.1fl oz as well as the De-Frizz Oil 5ml/0.1fl oz.

For this review, I'll be putting to the test the whole regimen using everything from the KMS TAMEFRIZZ line as well as try it with other generic branded shampoos. This is to test if the serum is versatile when used with other products separately.

Using the KMS TAMEFRIZZ regimen

Upon using the Shampoo during my wash the fragrance of the product and the look of it reminded me very much of shea butter with a vanilla scent. The lather made soft foams that reminded me of high quality of shampoo that is used in salons. It really felt luxurious. I left it on my hair for about 2minutes before rinsing it off. Since I didn't purchase any conditioner, that was basically done for the hair wash. This products on chest/bust length hair will be of single use only.

I then towel dried and waited for most of the water in my hair to be absorbed by the towel. I then applied the KMS TAMEFRIZZ Oil, working from the bottom half first then teased it into my roots with the remaining product. Leave the product to air dry before applying the De-frizz Oil onto dry hair.

I left my hair to airdry overnight to ensure my hair is fully dried. at 8am, I applied the De-Frizz Oil onto my hair. I have officially counted down 72HRS to see the results of this. So far the products I've used are, 10ml Shampoo & 7.5ml (one and a half pack) of the De-frizz oil.This hair oil is not too thick and not too watery, it had a very nice smooth slip to it. Yet again, this had a sweet shea butter and vanilla scent to the product.

List of Ingredients

KMS TAME FRIZZ (shampoo): water/aqua/eau, sodium laureth sulfate, cocamidopropyl betaine, PEG-18, glyceryl oleate/cocoate, PEG-3 distearate, sodium cocoyl glutamate, glycyl glycine, acacia seyal gum extract, silicone quaternium-22, orbignya oleifera (babassu) seed oil, coco-glucoside, glyceryl oleate, cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1, dimethicone, polyquaternium-10, propylene glycol, sodium chloride, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, lactic acid, quaternium-80,amodimethicone, tetrasodium EDTA, ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, panthenol, citric acid, PPG-3 myristyl ether, glycerin, sodium acetate, PPG-9, trideceth-12, cetrimonium chloride, isopropyl alcohol, sodium cocoamphoacetate, PCA, tartaric acid, pyruvic acid, malic acid, sodium benzoate, benzoic acid, fragrance/parfum

KMS TAME FRIZZ (lotion): water/aqua/eau. trisiloxane, cyclopentasiloxane, dimethiconol, phenyl trimethicone, polyquaternium-37, glycyl glycine, acacia seyal gum extract, silicone quaternium-22, orbignya oleifera (babassu) seed oil, amodimethicone, cetrimonium chloride, ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, panthenol, ethylhexylglycerin, hydroxypropyl guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride, isopropyl alcohol, trideceth-12, glycerin, PPG-3 myristyl ether, citric acid, phenoxyethanol, sodium benzoate, fragrance/parfum

KMS TAME FRIZZ (de-frizz oil): cyclopentasiloxane, dimethiconol, diethythexyl carbonate, phenyl trimethicone, isopropyl myristate, glycyl glycine, acacia seyal gum extract, orbignya oleifera (babassu) seed oil, ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, water/aqua/eau, glycerin, lactic acid, citric acid, fragrance/parfum.

Analyzing the ingredients

Looking at the whole list of ingredients, you can definitely see a lot of silicone ingredients that help reduce the static that creates frizz. this coats every strand of hair to minimise the friction. These silicone based chemicals are probably part of their "defrizz system.

Another ingredient not commonly found in generic brands are Babassu Oil or Orbignya oleifera is a clear light yellow vegetable oil extracted from the seeds of the babassu palm, which grows in the Amazon region of South America. It is a non-drying oil used in food, cleaners and skin products. (wikipedia) Researching more on this particular ingredient, it's an underdog ingredient that is beneficial for the skin and hair as well as for consumption! I could go on and on about the product after reading about it, but I'll just have you go to another site where they list down all the benefits of Babassu Oil. http://www.naturallivingideas.com/babassu-oil-benefits/

My Experience

So after 72hours, my experience with the product on the first try along with the KMS Tamefrizz shampoo was that it was heavy when you applied it after towel drying and also added another application after the hair was completely dried to add some shine to the hair. Later as you can see in the video my curls were more stiff and my hair felt a little crunchy. Probably that the serum was heavily loaded with silicone it weighed down my hair upon reapplication.

I decided that on the second try, I would like to just do a single application and monitor if it got more frizzy or if it manages it throughout the 3 days I'll be testing it out. Granted it's September and the weather in Singapore is crazy hot one minute and raining heavily the next. But definitely the 71-83% humidity in the air is kind of constant?

During the second test, I washed my hair the previous night with Mane 'n' Tail Clarifying shampoo to get rid of any non soluble silicones still stuck onto my hair to make sure I've gotten a clean slate onto my hair (as much as possible I hope). This time round making sure I'm only applying it to my fully dried hair as I usually do during any other day. 48 hours later its still feeling soft and frizz controlled. Not feeling greasy on the roots yet.

72 hours later, it's still doing awesome maintaining my frizz, so I'd say kudos to the KMS and Kao team for making such an amazing product!

Summary Juice Box Review

-Moisturising- 2/5

On the low end of the rating as there is very little moisturising content and feel to this serum. I feel that it was loaded with silicone that the main factor was to have the product coat the hair follicles and keep whatever moisture is in the hair. I guess this is why it boasts up to 72 hour frizz protection in humidity.

-Affordability- 2/5

This product is not cheap, and it is salon grade products that you will be buying. But I can tell you a little goes a long way. It also is not readily available in stores and can only be bought from a distributor or from a salon that stocks up on it. Hence the low rating.

-Endurance in Humidity-4/5

This scores high in the endurance as it manages to maintain the frizz even in the higher humid climate like Singapore after 72 hours of wear test.

-Efficacy-4/5

It rangers high on the efficacy rating as the product said what it would do. a 72 hour frizz free serum that can withstand the humidity and protect the hair.

Average rating of 3/5 Juice Box

-An average product for moisture retention if you do not moisturise your hair before the serum application.

-Reapplication is discouraged as heavy on silicone product and will ultimately make your hair limp.

-One application of 1-2 pumps is enough depending on hair length.

-Will manage your frizz in higher humidity climates up to 72 hours.

Check out my video for more visual wear test! Till the next week, don't stop the MSCHFF!

MSCHFF managed.

xoxo

19 views0 comments
bottom of page