top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

THE BODY SHOP: FUJI GREEN TEA CLEANSING HAIR SCRUB


I received this mini single use sample from The Body Shop and was very tempted to just use it without doing a review on it because it smelled deliciously citrusy. Of course I refrained myself because this product was different from all the other shampoos that I have tried before. It was a scrub but for the hair.

Imagine lip scrubs and skin exfoliating scrubs. This Cleansing Hair Scrub is very similar in consistency to those in comparison. It contains salt granules to assist in exfoliation of the scalp. The scent of this is not like the normal Green Tea you drink, (imagine scent of kelp or seaweed), the scent of the scrub has a lemon+green tea kind of scent that is very refreshing. I'm a big fan of the lemon+green tea scent.

This is pretty much a straightforward shampoo review as this product does not claim to have frizz control properties and is more concentrated at purifying the scalp and hair by reducing build-up. (this is not a clarifying shampoo and will not remove all product build-up or hard water impurities)

https://www.thebodyshop.com/hair/treatment/fuji-green-tea-refreshingly-purifying-cleansing-hair-scrub/p/p002447

The sales representative also did mention that I can just wash as per normal and assume the product as a shampoo. After rinsing the product off you will need to follow up with a conditioner.

Testing the product

As I was working the product into my hair, since the product is very granulated, some chunks of it fell onto the bathroom floor as I was massaging it onto my scalp. However, I did splash a little bit of water to make the product dissolve more as I was scrubbing it and it worked. It felt like it was lathering up and soaping pretty well, however there was no foam lather that was visible. It had a good slip to it when worked on the hair and definitely this small sample tub (appx 5-10ml) was able to cover my while chest length hair from roots to tip.

I would say that it was a very spa-like experience with the aroma of the product wafting in the bathroom. and massaging it onto my scalp and working it in. Rinsing the product off was also easy and it washed off without any difficulty. It didn't leave my hair feeling squeaky clean like some shampoo does, but it did make my scalp and hair feel refreshed and clean.

I then followed with conditioning my hair with Nature Vitals Hair Loss Prevention Conditioner after .

Juice Box Rating:

1. Moisturising 3/4

2. Affordability 3/4

3. Endurance in Humidity 2/5

4. Efficacy 4/5

Average Juice Box: 3/5

As this product did not cater to frizzy hair or curly hair, this product on its own without using a conditioner would not have the desired frizz control if you are looking for a shampoo that caters to that. It is more of a basic shampoo but with exfoliating properties that is different from other shampoos in the market. This definitely has more of a spa-like vibe when you apply it and would be more suited for pampering rather than your daily shampoo.

I would still recommend this product if you wish to try out something different and feel more hardworking to pamper your hair sometimes. A 240ml tub of this will definitely last you awhile as this would not be a subsitute for your normal shampoo.

10 views0 comments
bottom of page