top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

Hype Hunt: Coloured Hair Wax


You've probably seen these sponsored ads all over facebook and instagram about the washable coloured hair wax. I bought 2 of them because it was just so interesting.

Initially I didn't intend to get it because as much as I was curious about it, I wasn't going to spend SGD30 on hair wax which I might just use once. However, one of my best friends asked me about the product and she wanted to try it out too and was wondering if I had tried it. Searching through lazada.sg, there was an offer for this product and it was selling at SGD10 per tub! I didn't want to buy it from the websites from facebook or instagram, but I did a search through Lazada.sg to see if they had the hair wax available. (I use lazada a lot to find these hyped stuff as I can get cashback via Shopback and also its sellers are trusted)

Great thing about this is that I get to share this tub with my friends who are just as curious to try out a bright bold haircolour without the risk of dying it permanently! So I decided to get two of the brightest colours , Red and Purple!

Such vibrant pictures used as reference right? I'm pretty sure those hair were not from this coloured hair wax. I should have gotten a white base to make the colours pop more on the hair, but uhh I dont think I want to buy another tub just to get white coloured wax. So lets see if the colours are able to achieve similar vibrancy with just one colour.

My hair is a dark brown hair and colours depicted above may not be the true colours represented on a dark haired person. If you were to have blonde or bleached hair, I'm pretty sure the colours will appear more vibrant similar to the above colours. However on a dark haired person, the colour would probably be more muted.

So above is the wax, red and purple accordingly. They seem to have some kind of shimmer in the wax that makes it look shiny and metallic. It smells like a mens soap or cologne when you smell it. It's not unpleasant and the scent lingers on your hair when you apply it but it isn't obscenely strong. The application of this is similar to a regular hair wax and requires you to work the product onto the desired hair. Definitely section your hair if you wanted a more even application as just slathering it on will leave it patchy. (I slathered it on)

You'd be able to see in the first picture on the far left, I just slathered it on and it's coated unevenly. However the colour shown was vibrant on the chunks of hair. On the second picture I brushed the chunks out as best as possible, to get it detangled as best as I could. I even got frustrated halfway while combing as it was tangling over and over again since my hair is long and wavy. The wax started to flake of in bits as I brushed and it is quite evident that the colour was more muted and no longer as vibrant in normal room lighting. So as predicted, the colour will not be as vibrant on dark coloured hair versus a blonde or bleached hair.

I ended up tying my hair up in a bun because of my frustration that the ends of my hair was so frizzy and tangled. I tied it up and created a large messy bun using a donut hair accessory. You can see that the colour is not obvious but only showed up as a tint in daylight.

Mind you that this product I applied with my bare hands and I did managed to get the product out with just soap and water. However the wax is not transfer resistant and the colour does rub of onto your fingertips when u touch it. It can range from just flakes of wax to the shimmer transfering onto your hand. I would suggest avoiding wearing it on sweaty days and if you have to walk in the rain as it will bleed. Best to put your hair up in an up-do like I did to avoid any possible transfer onto clothes.

product transfer when you touch it varies from dampness of hair.

When washing the wax away at the end of the day, I had to shampoo and rinse my hair twice thoroughly to get rid of all the wax. My bathroom floor would then be covered in purple colour that I had to hose away. And remember the flakes of hair that was brushed out from the hair? It was a nuisance to clean away as it smeared on my tiled floor and if I had missed a spot and stepped on it, I'd smear it on the tile again. I wouldn't say that it's tough to clean away, but it's just kind of tedious and an nuisance if you don't have much patience for it. (I'm pretty much a do it quick and get it done kind of person)

So before you intend to try out the product do not the pros and cons below. Probably some of the queries you have in mind about this product will also be answered.

Pros

1. temporary hair colour

2. washable with soap and water ( shampoo and rinse twice for thorough cleanse)

3. able to mix colours to your liking

4. great colour testing without the commitment

5. colour does show up a little on dark hair

Cons

1. not transfer resistant and will have minimal transfer when you touch it

2. colour not vibrant on dark hair and will show up more vibrant on lighter coloured or bleached hair.

3. need to section hair properly and apply portion by portion for a more even application.

I hope this review gave u some insights about how to apply this hair wax. I might try using other methods to see if it will be able to give a more even coating for easier application. So look out for a part 2 of this hyped up coloured hair wax!

Check out my video below for the application process!

Till next time!

xoxo

6 views0 comments
bottom of page