top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

Argabody: Hot Oil Kit


I've kept this Hot Oil Kit from Argabody with me for a few months and finally got the chance to try it out! I purchased this with a discount code to save some money, you can still use the code 'hotoil15off' if you wish to get this after. (not affiliated with them in any way, this code was taken from their instagram they shared)

It is basically a pre-conditioning before your hairwash. Somewhat similar to the Lush cosmetics Hot Oil Treatment which I had tried last year. Except that this is in oil form instead of a solid block. Comparison wise, this is definitely less messy in terms of application for sure as its already in a liquid state.

So in this kit you will get a squeeze bottle, 10ml Argan Oil, 10ml Jojoba Oil, 10ml Coconut oil. Directions are indicated on the back of the box.

Steps involved:

1. Rinse off any hair wax or hair products in your hair and leave it damp.

2. Pour equal amounts of each oil into the squeeze bottle. (you can free pour it, using the dropper will take ages)

3. Get a cup of hot water, (doesn't need to be boiling, 63-70 degrees Celsius is okay)

4. Leave the squeeze bottle in the hot water for 2-5 minutes leaving the cap twisted slightly open.

5. Test on skin to ensure the oil is not too hot. Apply liberally onto scalp and hair.

6. Let it rest for 30mins then wash off with shampoo and conditioner as per usual.

I tested this twice for the whole week and applied it before my hairwash days.

1st application

So those steps above was what I followed. I then washed off with the product with lush's curly wurly coconut shampoo and conditioned it with the R&B Moisturiser after. Unfortunately upon a few hours after air drying my hair, my hair still was oily. I was thinking if I had washed it thoroughly during the washing process and it was the R&B Moisturiser that was causing the oil on my hair. So that night I did a second wash with a tiny bit of All Natural's Rose and Almond Oil Shampoo to see if I could offload some of the oil from my hair so that it doesn't feel so greasy.

The next day while meeting my ex-colleagues, I definitely did have a less greasy hair but I also kept it up in a high bun using the donut to keep my hair up and away. But when I did try to let it down, I was able to smell the coconut scent that was quite strong and decided to keep my hair up till I decide what to do with my hair next. Maybe at the next application I would change the shampoo and conditioner variable to see if it made any difference.

Well safe to say, when I got home from meeting my colleagues, I decided to wash my hair immediately as I could not stand my hair to be that greasy anymore! (ended up washing it with the Mane & Tail Gentle Clarifying Shampoo.)

2nd application

During the second application, I did the same thing and prepared the oil and dunked it in hot water to warm up. Upon application, I decided to reduce the amount I applied to my hair and only ended up using 1/2 of the contents. I let it sit in my hair for about 20-30mins and washed it off with the All Nature Rose and Almond oil Shampoo thoroughly as best as I could.

This time round I also decided to skip the conditioner altogether since the oil will still remain on the hair after the washing.

I wouldn't say that I got the oil completely out from my hair as I still feel that it is somewhat greasy on the lower half of my hair, but it's not as bad as the first attempt I tried. Areas like the hair roots where I had managed to wash the oil off felt really smooth and shiny, the lower half of the hair though was still greasy from the oil that did not managed to get washed off.

Summary

You will have a learning curve when you are calibrating how much oil is sufficient for the application. I'm guessing that you don't actually need to use a lot of the hair oil for one application. I have chest length hair and I used way too much, but it didn't tell me how much to use if I had "said" length of hair.

Once you get the hang of how much product you need to mix to not over-apply (because you really need to shampoo twice if you do that), this product is actually really good and natural. The oils in the kit are commonly used oils that are infused in haircare products all over the world, hence I don't see why the oils at it's truest form would be any different in benefits.

It did made my hair very hydrated and moisturised.

Update: The effects of the deep conditioning also lasted for about a week even after I had put my hair through a few other hair hype tests!

Below I'll indicate the amount of product you will need to mix depending on the type of hair length you have. (feel free to adjust it to your liking)

Hope you guys liked the review, do check out my video below as well for a more visual review!

Till the next time!

xoxo

10 views0 comments
bottom of page