top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

VERB Haircare + Giveaway!


This brand just dropped into Sephora.sg just a few months back and the minimalist packaging and availability of the travel sized products really spoke to me. So since you know I've been on a prowl through Sephora for their more luxurious haircare line, I decided to pick some up to try as well as to giveaway to one of you!

I purchased their hydrating shampoo line that consisted of the

1. Hydrating Shampoo

What it is:

A hydrating shampoo to cleanse hair, replenish moisture, preserve colour, and protect from heat.

What it does:

Verb Hydrating Shampoo is a mild, everyday formula that gently yet effectively cleanses hair. Quinoa protein naturally conditions and smoothes hair while vegetable keratin protein keeps each strand strong and pliable. A moisturising shot of pro-vitamin b5 smoothes dry hair and sunflower seed extract provides natural UV protection while guarding against dryness, color fading, and brassiness. Great for all hair types, including colour treated hair, it leaves hair feeling soft, smooth, and tangle-free.

This product is formulated without parabens, sulfates, phthalates, and

gluten.

Ingredients

Aqua/water/eau, Sodium C14-16 Olefin Sulfonate, Ammonium Chloride, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Disodium Laureth Sulfosuccinate, Cocamide Dipa, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Hydrolyzed Quinoa, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Extract, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein Pg-propyl Silanetriol, Alanine, Arginine, Aspartic Acid, Glycine, Histidine, Isoleucine, Phenylalanine, Proline, Serine, Threonine, Valine, Panthenol, Polyquaternium-7, Polyquaternium-44, Quaternium-95, Silicone Quaternium-8, Fragrance (Parfum), C11-15 Pareth-7, C12-16 Pareth-9, Pca, Glycerin, Glycol Distearate,citric Acid, Cocamidopropylamine Oxide, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Sodium Lauroyl Methyl Isethionate, Trimethylsiloxyamodimethicone, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Sodium Lauryl Sulfoacetate,coconut Acid, Sodium Lactate, Sodium Pca, Tetrasodium Edta, Cocamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Trisodium Ethylenediamine Disuccinate, Glycol Stearate, Sodium Isethionate, Propanediol, Potassium Sorbate, Disodium Edta, Ethylhexylglycerin, Benzoic Acid, Glycol, Magnesium Nitrate, Sodium Benzoate, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Hydroxide, Hydrogen Peroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Magnesium Chloride, Benzyl Alcohol, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Limonene, Hydroxycitronellal

2. Hydrating conditioner

What it does:

Give hair the colour-safe hydration it needs with this everyday Verb Hydrating Conditioner. Formulated to wash away clean, it delivers intense moisture and natural shine to hair. Quinoa protein naturally conditions hair while vegetable keratin protein keeps each strand strong and pliable. A shot of moisturising pro-vitamin b5 smoothes dry hair and hydrating amino acids condition and help extend colour life.

This product is formulated without parabens, sulfates, phthalates, and gluten.

Ingredients:

Aqua/water/eau, Sodium C14-16 Olefin Sulfonate, Ammonium Chloride, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Disodium Laureth Sulfosuccinate, Cocamide Dipa, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Hydrolyzed Quinoa, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Extract, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein Pg-propyl Silanetriol, Alanine, Arginine, Aspartic Acid, Glycine, Histidine, Isoleucine, Phenylalanine, Proline, Serine, Threonine, Valine, Panthenol, Polyquaternium-7, Polyquaternium-44, Quaternium-95, Silicone Quaternium-8, Fragrance (Parfum), C11-15 Pareth-7, C12-16 Pareth-9, Pca, Glycerin, Glycol Distearate,citric Acid, Cocamidopropylamine Oxide, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Sodium Lauroyl Methyl Isethionate, Trimethylsiloxyamodimethicone, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Sodium Lauryl Sulfoacetate,coconut Acid, Sodium Lactate, Sodium Pca, Tetrasodium Edta, Cocamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Trisodium Ethylenediamine Disuccinate, Glycol Stearate, Sodium Isethionate, Propanediol, Potassium Sorbate, Disodium Edta, Ethylhexylglycerin, Benzoic Acid, Glycol, Magnesium Nitrate, Sodium Benzoate, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Hydroxide, Hydrogen Peroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Magnesium Chloride, Benzyl Alcohol, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Limonene, Hydroxycitronellal

3. Hydrating Mask

What it does:

This lightweight conditioning treatment is enriched with glycerin, which naturally binds moisture to hair for added softness, and deeply nourishing babassu oil. Use weekly to restore colour-treated or over-styled hair to add shine and softness. It helps manage and restore strands and works well with styling and heating tools.

This product is vegan and formulated without parabens, sulfates, phthalates, and gluten. It is good for straight, wavy, curly, and coiled hair types.

Ingredients:

Aqua/water/eau, Dimethicone, Stearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Cetyl Esters, Glycerin, Behentrimonium Chloride, Quaternium-80, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Amodimethicone, Isopropyl Myristate, Fragrance (Parfum), Orbignya Oleifera Seed Oil, Citric Acid, Trideceth-12, Polyquaternium-10, Polyquaternium-67, Sodium Acetate, Caprylyl Glycol, Propylene Glycol, Isopropyl Alcohol, Benzethonium Chloride , Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, Cetrimonium Chloride, Myristyl Alcohol, Sodium Chloride, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Limonene, Linalool, Hydroxycitronellal

4. Ghost Oil

Ghost Oil™ features an integrated moringa oil blend that coats the hair shaft with essential nutrients. Bamboo extract strengthens the hair follicle and helps retain moisture, vitamin F rejuvenates for healthy-looking hair, and soy protein locks in moistures. This transparent oil prevents colour change to lighter hair colours, naturally smooths frizz, and delivers a radiant shine to all hair types.

This product is formulated without parabens, phthalates, and gluten.

Ingredients:

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethiconol, Caprylyl Methicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Oryza Sativa Bran Oil, Bambusa Vulgaris Extract, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Moringa Oleifera Seed Oil, Glyceryl Linoleate, Tocopherol, Aqua/water/eau, Glycerin, Fragrance (Parfum), Polysilicone-15, Glyceryl Linolenate, Potassium Sorbate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Benzyl Cinnamate, Benzyl Salicylate, Citronellol, Geraniol, Hexyl Cinnamal, Hydroxycitronellal, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Limonene, Linalool, Hydroxyisohexyl 3-cyclohexene Carboxaldehyde, Alpha-isomethyl Ionone

Information above courtesy from Sephora Singapore.

Almost all of the products are created without parabens, phthalates and gluten. Some of them are created without sulfates, however not all products are sulfate-free. For example the Sea Spray and Ghost Oil are not sulfate-free products. How does this fare against other sulfate-free products that are popping up in the market?

Application

I'll use the products in this order for the weeks of testing during the hair wash days. My hair condition and look will be documented with a selfie on the after fully dried hair after each hair wash regimen.

1st Hairwash

1. Mane & Tail Gentle Clarifying Shampoo

3. Verb Ghost Oil (Application on wet hair)

During this first hair wash, I skipped on any conditioner and just went ahead and moisturised my hair with the Verb Ghost Oil on damp towel dried hair. After the serum application I'd let my hair hair dry before tying it up into a bun. I had left the hair unwashed for about 2 days to see if there was any frizz controlling properties and also if the softness and shine of the hair will fade away after the second day. I didn't reapply the Verb Ghost Oil at any time after the initial application onto the damp hair.

The first day I applied it, the temperature was around 35°C with humidity of 67-84%. I realised upon the application of the Verb Ghost Oil the hair was immediately drying to a soft smooth texture. I had used 5 pumps of it onto my hair and tried my best to distribute it evenly. I don't usually apply hair oils or serums onto wet hair because I feel like my hair tends to absorb a lot of product. On the second day, with similar temperatures and humidity, my hair still managed to retain the softness and the frizz control even though the scorching weather made me want to dunk myself in a cool tub of water. On the third day , before I went to wash my hair, the curls looked so nice I didn't want to wash it away.

Usually a clarifying shampoo will be quite drying to the hair if you do not condition it afterwards. However I find that the Mane and Tail Gentle Clarifying Shampoo has done a good job to remove any product buildup before I apply my serums without totally drying out the moisture in my hair. However, we are not talking about the shampoo here, but in fact that the serum was versatile enough to be able to work with harsher formulations of shampoos. A win in my books as not all serums are able to provide me with a frizz control similar to this Ghost Oil.

2nd Hairwash

1. Verb Hydrating Shampoo

2. Verb Hydrating Mask

3. Verb Ghost Oil

During the second hair wash, I had used everything from Verb to see if the delicious curls I had could be replicated even when using their own brand. Seeing as it was quite versatile and could be used with other name brand shampoo, it was quite promising. The shampoo and the hydrating mask was really fresh smelling, and it was something that appealed to me a lot. Citrusy and fresh. This scent was quite consistent with slight variations of fresh citrusy scent throughout their whole haircare line. I used about half a palm full of the hair mask to coat my whole head and it felt really light and not heavy. Even dispensing the product, it didn't feel overly goopy or oily and application was simple and direct. I was pleased that it came in a squeeze tube rather than a tub because hair masks tend to get a little messy when applying from a tub. I appreciate that kind of convenience. Never knew how convenient it is till I actually experienced it. Something I never knew I needed. For the Ghost Oil, I used more product in this application, 10 pumps in total to see if it could be too excessive during application on damp hair. I didn't reapply the Ghost Oil again after the hair has fully air dried.

At first upon touching my hair after it has air dried, I felt as if the product felt a little too sticky on the ends of my hair and I was a little bummed that I had excessively applied the Ghost Oil onto my hair. However I just twirled my hair and removed any excess product that was on the hair and it was okay. I realised that the hair didn't feel as soft as the 1st hair wash, but it was definitely still soft and shiny. The picture shows you how my curls look like under daylight the morning after the hair wash.

If you can tell there was a slight difference to the curls versus the 1st hair wash, with the use of the Hydrating Mask, the curls were less voluminous, however it still managed to keep my frizz at bay for the entire duration of the hot humid day while I was out for my MUA appointments and job interviews.

3rd Hairwash

1. Verb Hydrating Shampoo

2. Verb Hydrating Conditioner

3. Verb Ghost Oil

During the third hair wash, I tried using the Hydrating Shampoo and Conditioner along with the Ghost Oil on wet hair application. I had wanted to see if the hair needed anymore of the Ghost Oil if it lacked the smoothness and shine.

Looking as how my curls were photographed in natural daylight setting , the shine was still there, I decided to forgo the additional hair serum application.

This hairwash definitely made my hair feel a little weighed down, maybe due to the product buildup, since the Ghost Oil is not silicone free. So any non-water soluble silicone will be trapped onto the strands of my hair.

I still love how this product smells and feels after the hair wash. I'll still do a 4th hair wash to see if the same variable as the 1st hair wash regimen will create any difference in the volume and feel of the curl.

4th Hair Wash

1. Mane & Tail Gentle Clarifying Shampoo

3. Verb Ghost Oil (Application on wet hair)

So let's recap the 1st Hair Wash, we saw the hair condition after the 3rd day. However I realised that I didn't show you the hair after the 1st day of hair washing. So I'm replicating that comparison and showing you the picture on the morning after the hair washing versus the third day.

As you can see on the picture in my blue button-down shirt, my curls looks less shiny and the curls are more relaxed at some areas. However between all three hair washes, this hair wash felt the best on my scalp and it made my hair feel softer after stripping off all the unwanted buildup on my hair.

However, as you can see there is some sort of lackluster in the shine of the curls, this is because I skipped on using a conditioner to put back some moisture into the hair before I had applied the Ghost Oil.

Throughout the whole trial period of the VERB Haircare Products using the Hydrating Line, I was pleasantly surprised at the frizz control factor that it was able to achieve during this hot weather here in Singapore.

This picture in comparison is taken 3 days after the 4th Hair Wash. As you can see the curls in my hair has taken to some volume similar to the outcome during the 1st Hair Wash. It has the right amount of body and curls which I like on my hair without the frizz.

To summarise the VERB Hydrating Haircare Line, I'm pretty impressed by the products and how versatile their products were when used with other shampoos. I definitely recommend this product, even if you're not interested to try out the shampoo as you have your own favourite, you may want to consider buying the VERB Ghost Oil hair serum to keep with you and apply onto your hair to give you that frizz control factor. It's not a light weight oil nor is it a very heavy serum when applied to your hair.

Juice Box Rating

1. Moisturising: 4/5

2. Affordability: 3/5

3. Endurance in Humidity: 5/5

4. Efficacy: 4/5

Average rating: 4/5 Juice Boxes

Highly recommend the Ghost Oil and is now part of my Essentials Kit.

Giveaway details

Stand a chance to win travel sized VERB Hydrating Shampoo, Conditioner and Ghost Oil to try and many more goodies!! To enter the December Giveaway follow the steps below!

1. Follow @mschffsg on instagram and like the Giveaway posts and details on how to enter are on it! There will be more than 1 post!

2. Once you have completed it, comment down below on why you want to win the VERB Travel Set!

It's as simple as that!

This giveaway is open internationally and winners will be announced by 1st January 2018!

Closing date is 31 December 2017 23:59 SGT!

Prizes will take about 3 weeks to reach you.

9 views0 comments
bottom of page