top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

KOKOSTAR- HOME SALON HAIR MASK


I've actually been eyeing this hair mask for quite awhile online and it's frequently sold out, so I headed over to the store at Ngee Ann City to get a couple of hair masks. I'll be giving away a Home Salon and Gongji Hair Mask and other goodies to one of you at the end of this review, so stay tuned if you want to know more about how to win yourself one! It's open internationally so submit your entry!

Costs:

SGD10 at Sephora Singapore

What it is:

A pro-grade hair treatment for dry or damaged hair.

What it is:

Take the salon home with this innovative hair treatment from K-beauty brand Kocostar. Its advanced hair technology and ultra-nourishing formula rejuvenates dry or damaged hair, leaving every strand silky and soft in just 20 minutes.

Ingredients

Water, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine , Distearyldimonium Chloride, Isopropyl Alcohol, Glycerin , Glyceryl Stearate, Butylene Glycol, Hydroxyethylcellulose , Polysparkii(Shea) Butter , Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Cimicifuga Racemosa Root Extract, Polygonum Multiflorum Root Extract, Phellinus Linteus Extract, Angelica Gigas Root Extract, Morus Alba Bark Extract.paeonia Lactiflora Root Extract, Sophora Amgustifolia Root Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Camellia Japonica Seed Oil Panthenol, Glycine , Glutamic Acid , Lysine Hcl, Tocopheryl Acetate, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein , Sodium Benzoate,capsicum Annuum Fruit Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Glycine Soja(Soybean) Seed Extract, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract, Buddleja Davidii Extract , Thymus Vulgaris (Thyme) Flower/ Leaf Extract, Acetyl Hexapept Ide-8 , 1,2 - Hexanediol , Copper Tripeptide - 1 , Caprylyl Glycol , Illicium Verum (Anise)fruit Extract , Methyylchloro Isothiazolinone , Methylisothiazolinone , Magnesium Chloride , Magnesium Nitrate , Fragrance

Instructions

  • After shampooing, towel dry hair slightly, then place cap around hair and tuck loose ends inside.

  • Tighten cap with the attached sticker.

  • Massage scalp gently to fully absorb nutrients into the hair.

  • Wear cap for 15 to 20 minutes in or out of the shower, then remove and rinse hair with warm water

Application

It's the first product I've came across that is already infused with the product in the hair cap. Usually hair masks will tell you to put on the cream and then cover with a shower cap or hair cap to cure the product since it would work best with some heat.

I don't usually like to use a hair cap when I do masks for my hair because it tends to get really sweaty between those minutes just waiting for the product to cure under the cap. I like to just leave it as is or even just wrap a towel or unused t-shirt. Not sure if there is any difference if I were to do the shower cap method. Maybe I should test that out to see if there is any difference. But that is for another day.

I was pleasantly surprised upon opening the pack that it was kept in a smooth matte brightly coloured orange plastic that was folded over itself. It kind of looked like a sanitary napkin to me at first. It wasn't like a saturated face mask like I had anticipated. The product didn't leak out of that shower cap. As I proceeded to unfold the shower cap, it was a semi-circle with the cream conditioning product inside the cap.

The application was easy and I has just proceeded to apply it. I found that the best way to apply it is hanging your head upside down so the hair can enter first. especially when you have chest length hair like mine. Once I tucked the hair inside the plastic shower cap, I secured it around my head with the sticker attached to the cap. I then proceeded to massage the product onto my hair, but with my long hair, it was quite difficult to get it to distribute evenly. (See the video to see how my application went)

The rinsing of the product was relatively easy and I was overall impressed at how contained it all was from the application to the washing off.

Frizz control

There were quite a few reviews on the Sephora website that stated the hair mask was "Awesome" and that the results managed to last for about a week or two with washes. So I'm going to put it to the test! It's erratic weather here in Singapore with temperatures going from a cool 27°c to about 32°c and humidity ranging from 62%-91%. Honestly the weather feels like its 36°c right now.

I've washed it twice from the first application, having a good 3 days wear in between washes to see how it manages frizz wise. I must say that the control in between washes was really good. It made my favourite products work even better than normal and kept it frizz-free while not compromising my curls and my volume.

I had used the Mane 'n' Tail Gentle Clarifying Shampoo, Ellips Hair Vitamin in Smooth and Shiny as well as Verb Ghost Oil to hydrate my hair after the hair wash. Serums used on separate hair washes to see the results as I know how these products work on my hair.

Summary

I highly recommend this product for deep conditioning, it's a little costly for a single use application, however you can opt to use it fortnightly or even once a month. Pamper yourself! It also smells really good and will last at least 2 days with the smell in your hair. I've actually saved the shower cap for future deep conditioning masks because of the ease of use and because it's a waste of plastic for a single use.

Juice Box Rating:

1. Moisturising 4/5

2. Affordability 4/5

3. Endurance in humidity 5/5

4. Efficacy 5/5

Average Juice Box Rating: 4.5/5

Do check out my video to see how you can enter to win yourself a Kokostar Hair Pack of your own!

Deadline is End January 2018!

22 views0 comments
bottom of page