top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

John Frieda's Frizz Eaze 10 Day Tamer (Review)


I was super curious about all of John Frieda's line catering for the frizzy hair and combating humidity. As you all know, humidity is one of the main cause and factor for frizzy hair, aside from the hair damage from all the colouring and styling.

I often practice protective styling measures to make sure my hair is somewhat controlled in the frizz department. However, sometimes when the days get too hot and sweaty, I also feel that layering my hair products like creams and oils would be a bad thing as mixed with sweat, my scalp tends to turn into a stinky mess.

So with all this claims that John Frieda claims to do for people with frizzy hair like mine, I wonder if this 10 day pre-wash treatment will give me that frizz free days for awhile at least. I'd be happy with it maintaining for 7days at least.

It does say that the effects will last through the normal shampooing. I hope this bottle is good for at least 2 uses for my chest length hair, I would LOVE to test it after I'm done using the In-Shower lightening treatment from their Brilliantly Brunette line. That would probably be good for a part 2.

Well January is pretty rainy and cold, and usually my hair is pretty tame when it comes to cold weather despite the humidity.

I'll touch on the application of the product followed by the Post- application (10 days) and then the Juice Box Rating.

Application

The application process mentions to part your hair in sections and work the product into dry hair from root to end.

Since it was a prewash, the consistency of the product was very much like a conditioner rather than a serum. I was kind of expecting to use quite a fair bit of product since my hair is already bust length, but I only used half the bottle after completely saturating the hair. They weren't clear on how much products I should be applying to my hair and how saturated it should be, however from past experiences, if you apply a mask or pre-wash product onto dry hair, it just has that damp look rather than the soaked look.

I then proceeded to wrap my hair in a t-shirt head wrap and then started to clean the bathroom while I was waiting for 30 minutes to pass. After the curing process, when I unwrapped the shirt from my head, my hair seemed to absorb the product very well. I then proceeded to shampoo the excess product away from my hair with a generic shampoo I was just trying to finish up.

Post-Application

I could definitely feel a difference as my hair was drying. My hair felt softer than it usually was, and I didn't use a conditioner after the shampoo, because sometimes I get really lazy with that step, so I just felt like if a product should work well as a frizz tamer, it should accommodate to just cutting down the time consumed to wash your hair by skipping the conditioner.

So even when I skipped using a conditioner after the shampoo, I felt that my hair was well hydrated and was soft to the touch.

I then proceeded to test the wear time till the next hair wash.

I washed my hair at day 6 of 10 days because I couldn't take it my scalp was calling me for a wash since it felt itchy and sweaty. So I figured that this was a good test to see if the hair wash would change the softness or even the frizziness of the hair in comparison to day 1.

As you can see from day 1 versus day 6, there was definitely some wash off and the volume came back. I would say that my hair still feels soft but not as soft as the past few days of the application. With the constant rainy weather these past few days in Singapore, my hair still felt frizzy due to the humidity in the air. I applied the Nourishing hair oil occasionally to the ends to help it be smooth and shiny. It definitely worked however it was not as lustrous looking as it did before the hair washing.

I would say that this product definitely lost its frizz control properties after a hairwash in between. I definitely didn't wash my hair very often in between and it was said to be able to hold it's frizziness up to 5 washes too. I think it would help if you could stretch the hairwash days longer in between, because after the 1st wash, you definitely will be able to see the frizz coming back.

Juice Box Rating (AVG: 3.75/5 Juices)

1. 4/5 Moisturising

-It definitely made my hair feel softer immediately after the hair wash and was able to keep my hair feeling soft and frizz free for a longer duration of time. Though maybe not for the full 10 days.

2. 3/5 Affordability

-It's a splurge product. Though not expensive, it's only good for about 2 uses if you have bust length hair. Shorter hair will be able to use it more sparingly.

3. 4/5 Endurance in Humidity

-It definitely managed to withstand the humidity in Singapore for a good 5 to 6 days before my hairwash.

4. 4/5 Efficacy

-Overall, I would say that if your hair is moderately frizzy this might help to reduce the frizz close to nothing for that duration of time. However, if you have frizzy hair, this product will still work, but just don't expect to have the full 10 days of frizz free hair on the fly, because once u wash it away, you do get the frizz back.

Ingredients: Water, Alcohol Denat., Erythritol, Dimethicone, Bis-Hydroxy/MethoxyAmodimethicone, Xanthan Gum, Succinic Acid, Fragance, Sodium Hydroxide, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Synthetic Fluorphligopite, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (JoJoba) Seed Oil, Lactic Acid, Iron Oxides/Ci 77491, Methylchloroisothia xolinone, Methylisothiazolinone.

As you can see, there are silicone product in this product as well as some Jojoba oil and Avocado oil.

I would still use this product and would recommend you to try it too as it did leave me with soft and smooth hair after drying.

I would love to see if this product would work also on coloured and damaged hair as that too is another form of common frizz factor.

Till the next post!

XOXO

MSCHFF Managed

41 views0 comments
bottom of page