top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

Mane 'n Tail Gentle Clarifying Shampoo


I've been on a hunt for deep cleansing and clarifying shampoos to try out since I do test out a lot of hair products on MSCHFF. I try hair products whenever I do heat styling I will use hair sprays and other mousse and gels to form the up-do's. Most products contain silicone based ingredients that may or may not be fully soluble in water. Some of them are able to be dissolved and removed during the regular shampoo washes, however some regular shampoos are not strong enough to remove the products that are not water soluble and would require you to use something stronger to break those products down.

This was when I realised that I had to incorporate a clarifying shampoo that will be able to remove the previous product on my hair before I tested out the next one. This is to ensure that my hair is not affected by the previous product residue and the effects of the new product tested will get it's full potential on clean hair.

If you want to know why I chose to use a clarifying shampoo instead of a chelating shampoo, do go click this link to read more about which product you need to use. (Clarifying Shampoos: Do we need it?) If your waters are filled with heavy metals and other impurities, you may want to consider a chelating shampoo once a month to cleanse your scalp and hair. The quality of the water you bathe in does affect your hair colour if you have had it chemically treated.

I was fairly new when I decided to buy a clarifying shampoo. If you guys are like me and don't know where to start, this is one clarifying shampoo that you can consider. The Mane 'n Tail Gentle Clarifying shampoo. It's very readily available in department stores and pharmacies. Usual price $11-$13.

Honestly, I've seen many people rave about this product many years ago and it has been on shelves for a long time. I've always been turned off by the packaging. It's very pet shop like and has always made me wonder what it is doing in the hair care section. The picture of stallions and horses doesn't make it any better from steering me away from thinking that it is meant for washing a horses mane.

(I'm pretty sure I've read somewhere in the description that the product can be used for pets as well as humans. Don't quote me on that, I'm still in the midst of trying to find out if it is actually safe for pets as well.)

Why I chose this over other clarifying shampoos is that it is said to be gentle enough on the hair whilst removing the buildup on hair. I've been using this product for a few months now and it is one of the first clarifying shampoo that I've tried. I will say that it does the job of stripping off the buildup as well as excessive oil secretion from my scalp well. It does lather but not excessively, you'll have to use quite a decent amount for the whole head, approximately two 50 cents coins and with most clarifying shampoos I would encourage you to massage your scalp with the shampoo to ensure that it can work it's way to remove all those stubborn buildup from collecting onto the hair follicles. It pumps out as a thick clear gel that has a fresh clean scent to it.

I have my lazy days and most times after I have used this product, I do not follow up with a conditioner or hair mask that will help reintroduce and retain moisture back into my hair. Since this product will remove your natural oil secretion as well as the product buildup, your hair does tend to feel dry. This also will make your hair seem more frizzy and will tangle easily.

So my tip to you after using any clarifying shampoo is to follow up with a deep conditioning or even a hair mask that will allow your hair to trap in as much moisture to prevent frizziness.

The downside of this shampoo for it to work is that you have to massage it into your scalp for a few minutes, no skimping on this step and just slathering it on the surface of your dampened hair. It doesn't work that way and will not get the full cleansing effects. Trust me, I've tried it and the lazy girl in me regretted it, my scalp didn't feel clean at all and I still felt gunky.

Juice Box (AVG: 3/5)

1. Moisturising: 2/5

2. Affordability: 4/5

3. Endurance in humidity: 2/5

4. Efficacy: 4/5

Overall, this is a safe product to try out if you are new to clarifying and deep cleansing shampoos. It is a great start to see how your hair reacts to a stronger shampoo formulation that you can use once or twice a month for that deep cleansing.

Till next time!

XOXO

MSCHFF Managed!

14 views0 comments
bottom of page