top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

SEPHORA COCONUT DRY CONDITIONER


If you are looking for hair mists/ perfumes or even leave-in conditioners that you are able to use in between wash days to just lengthen the duration of freshness, maybe this could be something you could consider using. As you know, Singapore is well known for being humid and hot majority of the time, and I do sweat a lot from time to time depending on the activity of the day.

And the worst feeling is when you are trying to avoid washing your hair everyday but the odour from your scalp isn't to your advantage. You end up trying your hair tightly into a bun to avoid the smell permeating as you swish your hair about. Why does it seem like I can relate? Because I speak from experience.

What it is:

A hair-rescuing dry conditioner for refreshed, softer locks.

What it does:

In between wash days? Keep your hair feeling and looking its softest with this coconut-scented dry conditioner. The healing and nourishing formula is the simplest way to protect your hair from external damage while repairing brittle ends and strands on off-wash days.

Price: SGD15

(Descrption and prices are taken off sephora.sg's website)

Ingredients: Butane, Isododecane, Propane, Isobutane, Isopropyl palmitate, Parfum (fragrance), Dimethicone, Phospholipids, Helianthus annus (sunflower) seed oil, Cocos nucifera (coconut) oil.

As this is an aerosol spray, the first few ingredients used are to support and ensure that the product is dispensed smooth and evenly. The 5th ingredient, Isopropyl palmitate being a thickening agent that is supposed to make the product feel soft and has a shiny effect. 7th Ingredient, Dimethicone is a conditioning agent. The last two ingredients are simple and they are of course the oils, Sunflower oil’s to help soften skin, moisturize skin, and soothe irritation, so add this carrier oil to your massage oils or use for general skin care and Coconut oil has skin nourishing fatty-acids.

If you're wondering what is Phospholipids and what does it do? To be honest, I have no clue, but my quick research shows that these chemical structures work to keep the outside out and the insides in due to the nature of the compound. So for my understanding, what it means is that the Phospholipids will keep the moisture in and the form a barrier around your hair to prevent the drying of your hair. If you have a clearer understanding on what this ingredient is used for, do let me know, I would love to know what it does in this formulation.

Application and Observation

I usually like to wash my hair on alternate days to prevent my hair from drying out too quickly. Of course this compromise will make my scalp feel sweaty and smelly. I decided to try it out on my scalp to see if it could stand and elliminate the odour caused by sweating the whole day away.

I focused the application just near the roots and scalp of my hair where the problem areas are. I wanted to see if there was any visible differences from where I applied it and where I did not. I only focused the product application onto the top area of the scalp and avoided application on the left side of my hair.

If you can observe from the hair near my roots on the top of my head were shiny while the hair and roots of the scalp on the side of my head was dull looking.

As I do have hair longer than bust length, the usage of this 75ml spray will definitely not last me long.

The product has an artificial fruity coconut scent to it. I'm not usually a fan of coconut fragrances but this product's fragrance is bearable. The scent of the product will linger on your scalp throughout the whole day, even the next day if you wanted to avoid washing your hair for a little bit longer.

In terms of moisturising, it does have some softening effect from just the touch feel in comparison to the other areas of my hair which did not have any of the dry conditioner applied. I wouldn't say that it was mindblowingly soft or moisturised, however it was adequate to last you till the next hair wash day.

Spraying it on was easy and it didn't leave any whitecast onto my scalp or hair nor did it make my scalp feel clogged up. Overall, I would say if you were to use the product more as a perk up for your scalp to smell nicer just like a hair perfume would, this product would definitely be a good product to consider.

Juice Boxes (AVG: 3.25/5)

1. Moisturising: 3/5

2. Affordability: 1/5

It's SGD 15 for a 75ml bottle over at Sephora is a little bit steep considering that it is $0.20/ml. A bottle of this on my whole head might cost me at least SGD2 per usage unless used sparingly.

3. Efficacy: 4/5

4. Endurance in Humidity: 4/5

It was able to handle a whole day of work and heat while still staying fresh and smelling awesome.

18 views0 comments
bottom of page