top of page

COCONUT HAIR SLEEPING MASK


I love using an overnight hair mask! I especially love how the scent of the product will linger in your hair longer and usually the after effects of it will last longer. The only thing I don't like about it is how much I will move about when I am asleep and usually, the hair cap will come off and dangle precariously off my bed.

Previously I've tried the Rose Hair Sleeping mask from Sephora with a Juice Box Rating of 4.25/5. It had a cute shower cap that had rose prints on it and it smelled really really good. The effects of the moisturising conditioner also lasted about 5days and that is quite a long time. That's why I'm really excited to try out the coconut version of that hairmask to see if it lives up to the same hype as the rose counterpart.

Description:

What it is:

A line of hair masks with targeted benefits to hydrate and repair hair while you sleep.

What it does:

These hair sleeping masks from Sephora Collection are designed to be applied to dry hair, acting overnight for better results. Each is targeted to a specific hair concern without weighing hair down. Just apply to hair, cover with the included cap, and wake up to hair that is softer, more flexible, and visibly more beautiful.

Coconut Mask: Nourishes and repairs hair fibers. Shea Mask: Fortifies and helps to prevent breakage and split ends. Rose Mask: Smooths and prevents frizzing. Acai Mask: Protects colour and boosts radiance.

Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Ethylexanoate, Carthamus tinctorious (safflower) seed oil, Behentrimonium chloride, Cetrimonium chloride, Panthenol, Dipropylene glycol, Linoleic Acid, Argania spinosa kernel oil, Hexylene glycol, Isopropyl alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Parfum (fragrance), Oleic acid, Palmitic acid, Glucose, Fructose, Ethylhexyglycerin, Disodium EDTA, Stearic acid, Cocos nucifera (Coconut) fruit extract, Cococ nucifera (coconut) oil, Urea, Sucrose, Dextrin, Linolenic acid, Butylene glycol, Tocopherol, Aspartic acid, Acacia concinna fruit extract, Hexyl nicotinate, Glutamic acid, Glycerin, Sodium benzoate, Alanine, Citric acid.

Application and Observation

Upon opening the packaging, the hair cap definitely had the coconut design illustrated, just like the rose version had roses on it. It's made of a material that seems quite similar to a dust bag.

The hair mask dispensed had a very artificial coconut scent to it, initially I thought it was shea butter or had some shea butter in it. The scent of it is definitely less floral than the rose option.

It has three kinds of oil extracts in it, Safflower oil and Argan which is higher in the ingredients list and Coconut oil that is lower in the list of ingredients. It also has Coconut fruit extract that helps in nourishing and Acacia concinna fruit extract that is a good herbal ingredient for growth and strengthening of hair.

The consistency of the product is quite thick and creamy. If you have hair longer than bust length hair, you will definitely use up the entirety of the product that is given to you for a single use. If you happen to have shoulder length hair or shorter, you can possibly portion it out to two usages. I would recommend using a hair mask once every fortnight or even just once a month.

My preferred way of conditioning using a hair mask when I get really lazy is to use this method, so I can reduce my hair washing time. It takes me about 5mins to apply the overnight hair mask versus some hair masks that just take about 40mins before you wash it off.

I took a before picture of my hair. It still feels soft to the touch at some areas, however I did skip on conditioner during my previous wash so my hair doesn't look as shiny or as moisturised.

Lately my hair has been dull, maybe due to the fasting month putting the nutrients into something other than my hair.

The application was quick and fuss free, and I was done in mins. However, I only concentrated the product on my hair that is neck down and didn't apply it on my scalp.

I will be lathering the conditioner and working it onto the scalp for a few minutes before fully rinsing them off. The reason why I like to do it this way is because the ends of your hair are the areas that hardly gets any moisture and natural hair oils, hence needs more of the conditioner in comparison to the area that is sitting directly on the head.

I rinsed off the product working the hair mask onto my scalp before rinsing it off.

Above images were the stages that my hair went though, from it being air dried while prepping to go to work in the evening for day 1 to heading to work in the morning on day 3. you could see the hair oils working its way and the curls and hair getting more defined and shinier. Unfortunately, even though it looks hydrating, my hair didn't seem to me more nourished, it still felt dry at the ends and not as soft as I would have hopped it would work. The scent of the hair mask didn't linger as long and I used the Sephora Hair conditioner spray to freshen up my scalp through the days as the weather is sweltering. I would have washed it after the second day, however I was intrigued to see how my hair would react to the product extending for another day.

Overall, I do prefer using the rose version of the sephora hair mask more than the coconut version of it. There are a few more options in this Sephora Sleeping Hair Mask sold over in their stores and website, however I only chose these 2 to review as it supposedly treats the current conditions my hair needs. Frizz control and hydration.

Juice Box Rating

1. Moisturising: 3/5

It did moisturise the ends of my hair a little bit, however it didn't feel any different than using my normal conditioner or hair serums after hair washing. Hence the average rating of 3 out of 5 juice boxes.

2. Affordability: 2/5

For a single use product that costs me SGD7, it is considered pricey in comparison to other hair masks in a tub that can cost 3 times the price but for multiple usages.

3: Endurance in humidity: 2/5

It didn't manage to hold to enduring humidity that well as the ends became more drier unless you kept you hair mainly in a bun throughout the whole day.

4. Efficacy: 2/5

It did it's job, but nothing too fancy for me to get mind blown over this hair mask. It is an average hair mask.

Avg rating: 2.25/5

5 views0 comments
bottom of page