top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

LUSH BIG SEA SALT SHAMPOO


Product description from Lush website:

A volumising shampoo made with seaweed and sea salt. While the salt lifts the hair and adds body, it also softens the hair alongside extra virgin coconut oil and protein-rich toothed wrack seaweed. Lemon and lime allow the hair to shine as they allow the cuticles on your hair to lie flat, meaning they reflect more light. Use a small amount on wet hair and work it in well to build lather.

List of Ingredients

Hand Harvested Sea Salt, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Fresh Organic Lemon Infusion, Fresh Sea Water, Lauryl Betaine, Fresh Organic Lime Juice, Extra Virgin Coconut Oil, Mandarin Oil, Orange Flower Absolute, *Hydroxycitronellal, *Limonene, *Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Perfume

Price: SGD 49.90/330g

Observation: Large chunks of sea salt that looks like grains of rice, translucent product that has a fresh soap scent.

My initial reaction to the product was how large the salt scrub was for the scalp. I've ever tested a hair scrub before from body shop and in comparison, that had a much finer texture and felt more like a gritty paste. I was skeptical about the product giving any good lather or even managing to clean the scalp due to the large salt particles in it.

I was pleasantly surprised at how well some of the salt scrub managed to dissolve adequately to provide me with a workable lather on my scalp. There were still a few bits of the salt that was larger that took awhile to dissolve, however that did work to my advantage to scrub the scalp while it slowly disintegrated. I focused on the scalp to remove any dead skin or sebum buildup. Upon washing I did feel that my scalp was thoroughly cleansed through and it felt very clean. I didn't want to follow up with a conditioner to see if the product did have any moisturising properties that allowed me to forgo that step.

I let my hair air dry while I went out with my mom and sister. Now, close to 10hrs later after that hair wash, I can tell you that my hair feels soft and still smells great. It didn't have a very overpowering fragrance to the shampoo, however a lingering clean scent that was able to suffer through smokey food bazaars earlier in the day. I can feel the difference in my hair because usually after shampooing without a conditioner, it will leave my hair feeling stripped especially towards the ends of my hair. This often gives me frizzy and dry hair after air drying my hair.

Summary

I would highly recommend you to drop by any Lush stores to get yourself a sample to try out to see if you like the product first before committing to the full sized product. A sea salt scrub might not be for you if you do not like things like a temporary sandy/gritty bathroom floor. It does get everywhere for a while if you don't rinse your floor after using a sea salt scrub. It does work and a good scalp cleanse once in a while would be beneficial for your hair to grow better too!

Juice Box Rating

1. Moisturising 4/5

2. Affordability 3/4

3. Endurance in Humidity 4/5

4. Efficacy 4/5

Average rating: 3.75

15 views0 comments
bottom of page