top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

DEVA CURL BUILDUP BUSTER


Here is a review for the Deva Curl Buildup Buster #buildupbuster! Read below to know more about how I felt about the product!

I received this sample pack from a person who I bought makeup from via Carousell. She included quite a few haircare samples which was quite shocking to me, maybe perhaps she know I do haircare review and added the samples as a personal touch? Who knows exactly, but what I know is that I was stoked to receive a new product which I have never heard before! It definitely called for a review to be done!

My initial expectations and thoughts:

-I loved that the name of the company has the word "curl" in it, meaning it should work on different types of curls and is catered specifically for people with curly hair in mind.

-The buildup buster is also something which attracted me as I do look for a good clarifying shampoo that would remove buildup from all the serums that might not get washed off so easily.

-It's a treatment so it's a little confusing if I'm supposed to shampoo my hair prior or use it like a regular shampoo.

- Since I received only the shampoo sample, I hoped it was a hydrating one, (taking one for the lazy girl team).

-

I did a quick search if these products were sold anywhere in Singapore or in other countries, they do sell it online and cannot be found in any brick and mortar stores in Singapore at the moment. It's sold in Sephora USA and it's a product made in USA, so I'm not going to do an indepth review on the brand itself here, just letting you know my expectations and also a little about the company. You can definitely do more research on them!

Description and Instructions

Okay so the print on the back of the sachet is pretty small and I wouldn't want you to go and squint your eyes just to see what steps to take, so I'll type them out over here so you will be able to understand what they advise you to do.

"What does it do?"

This rejuvenating cleansing serum will bring all curl types back to life! The powerful cleanser uses micellar technology to gently remove buildup from the hair and scalp without stripping. Abyssinian seed oil and jojoba esters deliver moisture, shine and head-turning bounce.

"How to use it?"

Massage all over, and work it through the mid-lengths and ends. rinse thoroughly. Be sure to follow up with Devacurl Conditioner or treatment to seal in moisture. Use weekly or as needed to get your curl groove back.

Ingredients

Water, lactamide mea, glycerin, crambe abyssinica seed oil, limonium gerberi extract, cynara scolymus (artichoke) leaf extract hydrolyzed jojoba esters, hydrolyzed pea protein, panthenol, melissa officinalis extract, humulus lupulus (hops) extract, cymbopogon schoenanthus extract, chamonilla recutita (matricaria) extract, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) extract, achillea millefolium extract, caprylic triglyceride, hydroxyproply guar, hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride, thryxyethylcellulose, cocamodipropyl pg-dimonium chloride phosphate, cetrimonium chloride pe-10 hydroenated castor oil, polyacrylate-1 crosspolymer, polyquaternium-10, polyquaternium-11, ppg26-buteth-26, propanediol, disodium edta, citric acid, phenoxyethanol , fragrance (parfum)

1st Hair Wash!

Okay, so before I continue on, when I'm typing all these instructions onto this review, I realised that this product was meant to only be focused as a treatment for the hair that extends at least beyond the area of your scalp and should not have been slathered onto the hair and scalp like a shampoo.....I however, slathered it on like it was a shampoo. so, please don't do what I did. Hence the expectations I had about this product above.

So as you can see with the picture I took of the length of my hair, it is naturally curly and gives me goldilock/barrel curls near the ends of my hair. This is the before picture.

As I dispensed the product out from the pack, it has a clear gel like consistency. As I still think it was a shampoo rather than a serum to be concentrated on the mid section and ends of my hair, I slathered it onto the scalp, working the product onto the whole length of my hair. I was wondering why the product did not lather or was pretty stiff to work through to the ends of my hair, however I did make it work, by wetting the product it did create a slight slip and lather that I was able to distribute the product to my whole head of hair. I used half the amount in the pack for my whole head, 15ml. That meant I could do another test for another day to see the results.

P.S I think if I had figured out earlier that it was not meant to be a shampoo, I should think I would have had at least 3 to 4 uses for the 30ml sachet.

I left it on for about 5 minutes before I washed it off, and it did come off very easily and did not feel like it stripped my hair from any oils and felt moisturised. I then wrung out the excess water and towel dried for 10 minutes before letting it air dry completely and tying it into a bun and out of my face till the check in.

This was the check-in the same day, just a few hours after the hair wash. Come on! Look at those curls! It was super soft to the touch too! I didn't even need to put any frizz serum and my hair was behaving so well for the next few days.

My hair definitely had that bounce to it and the curls looked so much better than ever, especially during the first day of hair washing? I'm very amazed by it! The curls in my hair definitely was able to stay bouncy, soft, moisturised for a couple of days too, and I didn't even have to use a frizz serum to counter the humidity. Talk about amazing right here!

I of course had to freshen up and condition my scalp with the Sephora Dry Conditioner in Coconut after the 3rd day as the heat these days makes my scalp sweat so easily and that product gives me instant relief from the heat and also gives the hair some lift. I did also put my hair mostly in a tight bun during working hours, but the hair stayed soft and well moisturised.

This product has a unique fragrance to it and it's more perfume scented that lasts through the day. It is a very complex scent that is not fruity or woody. Though I'm not too sure how to describe the scent of it, it would definitely be a perfect complimentary scent to your everyday perfume without pulling an overly fruity, woody or soapy scent. A hair mist that smells like this would be perfect!

2nd Hair wash

I decided to try it out again, to see if it indeed did not require me to add additional moisture to my hair. I was already amazed at the first impression, so I would like to see if it did actually maintain what I experienced during the second hair washing.

As you can see from the picture, this was the week after the 1st hair wash first impression. You can definitely see a difference in the hair quality, the curls are more defined evenly rather than just at certain areas of my hair. it looks hydrated and bouncy still.

P.S I still have not figured out that I'm not supposed to lather it onto my whole head. So I still applied it as if it were a shampoo.

So just as I remembered the product was a little stiff to distribute throughout the whole head to ends of my hair without additional water to thin it down and lather it. I left it on for about the same amount of time, 5 minutes before washing it off without any difficulty.

The hair still felt moisturised after the rinse and I wrung out the excess water and then towel dried my hair for about 10 minutes before letting it air dry. I then also did the same thing in the first impression and tied my hair up. My hair was definitely soft and well hydrated right after this was as well and I didn't have to apply any frizz serum or treatment to my hair.

Even a few hours later, when I was out eating with my family, my hair was still soft and tame! Amazing! Consistent results! I would usually have to apply some serum to my hair during the 1st day of washing as my hair will feel so stripped of the oils, it frizzes immediately upon air drying. Not a good feeling to have your hair feel super dry. That's why I tend to only hair-wash my hair twice a week to avoid damaging my hair and not allowing the natural oils to seep back into my hair.

The next day, my hair still had the lingering scent of the treatment. However my hair was a little bit more tangled at the ends. Though I don't think that the product had anything to do with it, it's just the current length of my hair makes for easier tangles. It was easily brushed through with my fingers.

Comparing the 2nd wash before and after, there isn't much changes to the hair, I think it has maintained it's curl definition and bounciness. That is a great thing. I am impressed at this treatment and how long it lasts!

I would highly recommend it to everyone who has a curl to their hair and would love to define and hydrate those curls and give it a very appealing look overall.

Summary

Juice Box Rating

1. Moisturising: 5/5

Very good results that doesn't require you to add additional smoothing serums after hairwashing for those who have wavy hair like mine.

2. Affordability: 3/5

Unfortunately it cannot be easily found in Singapore, so I'm not sure where to buy these unless you research and purchase them online.

3. Endurance in Humidity: 5/5

4. Efficacy: 5/5

Average rating: 4.5/ 5

9 views0 comments
bottom of page