top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

Bangkok Trip! Part 1

Updated: Dec 18, 2020

Amidst this global pandemic, seeing others post their travel photos and how they miss travelling, it reminded me of my last trip I had with one of my best friends. We had such a chill time, and mainly the trip was to buy her necessities for her wedding entourage! The amount she spent in the end was WOW! Of course, I went there with the goal that I would stuff my face with good food and this is how it went! Day 1 (Morning):

Back in October 2019, N & I flew out from Singapore Changi Airport early in the morning so we wouldn't waste our daylight time over in Bangkok, Thailand.





When we arrived, it was too early to check into the hotel near Pratunam! 

So we left our baggage at the hotel first. 

We were really hungry after the morning flight since we didn't want to waste a day. But.... we arrived pretty early and the shops weren't open yet, so we decided to have our breakfast at a Halal Thai Restaurant nearby.

- Fried Rice with Omelette
- Seafood Tom Yum
- Iced Coffee
- Thai Iced lemon Tea

Appx price: $18-$25 (2 pax)

The portion is pretty good for 2 pax, but is a bit on the pricier side due to the restaurant being air-conditioned. Taste wise, it's pretty mediocre. 

We walked about the shops trying to kill time, just exploring what stores are opened so early in the morning. There were a few shops opened but a lot of them were just preparing to open sometime in the afternoon. We went through the Pratunam market and the alleys around it. If any of you are looking at good wholesale deals, Bangkok has some pretty good clothes for you to purchase. (Ehem, if you are a plus-sized girl like me, I don't think you'll go to BKK for clothes shopping). N bought some clothes and makeup while we were there! I saw some hair serum in a blister pack which kind of intrigued me cos I absolutely love the ellips brand of serum! Check out my full review on the ellips serums here!


Once we were done with the market, it was still pretty early to head to Platinum Mall, so we decided to chill back at the hotel and get ready for the next session!


As we were walking back to the Hotel after some shopping, we stopped by some snack shops, a fruit stall and a 7-eleven!

We bought a whole bag of Thai Mangoes for a few dollars (If I'm not wrong it was about $1.50! It was so sweet and yummy! Just look at that big bag!

We even bought a whole bunch of drinks to stock in the hotel room once we checked in and we bought way too much! We were only going to be at that hotel for 2 days before moving to another hotel nearer to Chatuchak Market.





Yoghurt drinks and jelly drinks are so delicious I even brought a bunch of them home!



Day 1 (Afternoon):

After freshening up at the hotel after checking in, we decided to head out to Platinum Mall for some window shopping and well actual shopping for N. It actually ended up with me buying a fair bit of stuff for myself while we were there.... and also a makeup bag that I use for my freelance work.



By this time it was close to evening time about 4pm and we were kinda hungry by now. Halal food options are not very common and there was this food fair right outside the mall that sold halal seafood. (brace yourselves)




We ordered a grilled squid and OMG that was the most expensive dish we had during the trip. Pretty wasted too cos we didn't finish the meal in the end and threw it away at the end of the day. 

Appx price: 500~700 baht ($17)



A little bit disappointed at that very expensive meal, we ended up going to get some dessert at After You dessert cafe! It was so chill and relaxing, and the mall was pretty empty of patrons.





Ordered:
Ferrero Toast, 265 baht ($6)

We didn't finish this one either, but it was delicious!


I seriously wonder how my friends entertain that I take food shots before we eat. Hazards of having a food infested Instagram page!


That was just the beginning of the shopping spree as we were headed for some grocery shopping! We had to stop by BIG C Supercentre to buy ingredients N's family wanted her to get while we were there! She bought a bunch of cat treats too for her cats!

My eye immediately tried to spot some goodies that I could bring back for the family too! We're big on food as souvenirs rather than trinkets. I bought quite a few of these cuttlefish snacks home! They're pretty much a favourite amongst my siblings.



We bought some shrimp paste chilli flakes too, as recommended by N and her mom!

On the way out, we saw that there was a booth that sold crocodile meat.


By the end of it we were pretty tired and worn out from the day just walking about and shopping. So we walked back to the hotel to get some much-needed rest and relax time.

Zzzz....

That is end of day 1! I'll post a part 2 next week!

4 views0 comments

留言


bottom of page