top of page
Writer's pictureNasuha Hamdi

So Pho - so good?


Pho originate from the Vietnamese people and it can be eaten at any time of the day. Everyone has their own variation of how they customise their Pho using sauces to give the soup more omph! So one of the ways you can easily get Pho in Singapore is at a food chain called So Pho. (Look at menu here) They have other dishes too that represents the Vietnamese food culture, like the Banh Mi, Spring Rolls (w/ the rice paper) and a few others! But have you wondered if it's worth the taste? Here is what I ordered! #22 Pho Noodle Soup w Sliced Beef/ Sliced Beef & Beef Balls

This isn't my first rodeo eating at So Pho to be honest. But everytime I go there, I get the same thing, because any Beef Pho is going to be more flavourful. You can choose to add the sprouts, lime, mint leaves if you wanted to, it all boils down to what you prefer. Even though the broth would have been simmered for a long time, the broth is light, so I like to customise mine with a bit of citrus, chili and fish sauce to give it that kick and umami. I love how this restaurant gives you a ladle for you to scoop up the soup and noodles, just the way I like to eat my noodles. Hmm... but you're wondering, is it authentic and the best pho there is here in Singapore? I would say nope it isn't. Why? The broth lacks the richness and impact, especially if you're eating it for the first time. This will not WOW you at all. I'm very sure there are other Pho stalls out there that can serve a more authentic bowl of Pho, however for So Pho, it's more of focused on bringing you a taste of Vietnam in a contemporary casual dining environment that can be easily found in many Shopping Malls around Singapore. Summary

This would be a good place to have a get together with family or friends who just want to try Vietnamese food in a more casual dining experience. If you have tried any good Pho here in Singapore, do let me know down in the comments section below! I'd be down to give it a try! XOXO

23 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page